I’m Dreaming of a White-Sand Christmas


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Rio de Janeiro » Rio de Janeiro » Ipanema
December 25th 2006
Published: December 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

A Sunny Day!A Sunny Day!A Sunny Day!

I'm such a dork!
Happy Christmas! I haven’t really written anything because unlike usual, our trip so far has been rather tame. We arrived in Rio de Janeiro on Friday the 22nd after a grueling 7.5 hour flight from Miami. We’re staying at a great hotel two blocks from Ipanema Beach. It was a little overcast the first two days but the sun came out to greet us today, much to our delight! My coworkers/friends, Ed and Luis are also down here and we hooked up with them for some drinking, eating and more drinking yesterday. It was great.
We went down to the beach again today and just frolicked like a bunch of kids. It was fantastic. There are these pop-up shelters along the beach where you can rent beach chairs, towels, and umbrellas. They also serve beers and sodas and can get you almost anything that you need. We went to Marcello’s because that’s where Ed’s been renting all his stuff for the past week and they know him. Wow talk about service! They scope you a prime piece of real estate on the beach, set up your chairs and a small table then erect the umbrella and hand you’re your beers and
Ipanema at SunsetIpanema at SunsetIpanema at Sunset

I stitched a panoramic view of Ipanema at sunset.
run off. Every once in a while one of Marcello’s guys will stop by and ask you if you need anything else, more beer, a coconut, water or a soda. Totally great! Then there’s the many many random vendors that wander the beach hocking their wares, sunglasses, sarongs, sunscreen, along with food and drinks. The snacks were the best part, grilled cheese on a stick, empada’s, a giant slice of watermelon, roasted nuts, and of course more beer. This was just a list of what we bought too! There was so much more. Some of the vendors can get really pushy but as long as you said, no thanks they’d walk away. Well except for the henna tattoo guy that Ed befriended. He was not only persistent but actually started drawing on my foot. Even after me saying “No, Obrigada” a number of times. It was all Ed’s fault because he just kept chatting with him. Ed felt bad that I was put in an awkward position so treated me to the day at beach.

It’s so strange to be in a vacation and not feel like we’re hustling and bustling around, most because we aren’t. Every day has
Cool BathroomCool BathroomCool Bathroom

This was quite a delightful surprise!
been a beach day and I’m totally fine with that.
Since it’s Christmas Eve our dinner options were pretty limited. I usually don’t feel the need to chronicle every meal but we ate at a great place called Marius. It was a buffet, and I’m usually not a fan, but it was fantastic. Wine was wonderful and the best part was the bathroom. I know, I know, I’m silly for being impressed with a bathroom. But check it out! You can see and judge for yourself.

All in all the vacation has been just what I needed. Very little planning and very little stress and a very content Nou.



Advertisement



25th December 2006

Happy Christmas Eve
Hi Nou, So refreshing to hear abour Your Christmas Eve adventures. I am sitting in good old Milpitas pretending and stressing about work. Love your picture with watermelon. Have a great vacation and write more :) Hugs, Monica
25th December 2006

Wish I was there...
Looks like fun! I wish I was laying on that nice warm beach... I want a sandy Christmas too! Can't wait to hear more and see pictures! Travel safe!
27th December 2006

It's about time that Nou takes a break!
Sounds ike you are having a wonderful time! Enjoy the next adventure and keep sending the blog!
2nd January 2007

love it
how great beer, beach and watermelon. love the pictures, keep them coming. i am jealous of the beach, denver's "beach" is snow, snow and more snow. be safe and wrap the suitcase worth every penny. same thing happened to us in africa. happy new year

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0693s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb