Day 273 Brazil, Rio de Janeiro


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Rio de Janeiro » Rio de Janeiro » Botafogo
August 18th 2015
Published: September 2nd 2015
Edit Blog Post

Hey People,



The priority today was finding a quiet place in the busy hostel for my phone interview with Carnival UK. After a disturbed sleep in our 9-bed dorm by the noisiest snorer I’ve ever had to endure, it wasn’t the best start.



I prepared a few notes in the morning before I set the laptop up in the common room in preparation for the phone call. It seemed to be louder than usual in the common room today, which is just my luck, so Neil asked the reception if there was a spare room available to sit in that could still pick up the Internet connection. There was so; I moved the laptop into the room 10 minutes into the call.



Anyway after an hour of trying to find every slither of sales experience I have the interview was over. It was stressful, firstly because there was a time delay so I was trying to talk quickly to get everything I wanted to say out before I could be interrupted, which probably just made me sound like I was babbling; and secondly, even though I know I could do the job I literally had no answers for some of the questions because I haven’t had enough sales/targets/customer complains experience.



I felt a little deflated afterward, so Neil took me around a shopping mall to cheer me up. It didn’t really help, as we couldn’t afford to buy anything L



Later in the afternoon we chilled out back at the hostel for a bit before heading out to dinner. It was our last night in Rio so we decided to walk a few blocks away from our hostel in Botafogo to a restaurant strip. We ordered amazing food and drank lots of beer, which really did cheer me up. I had Salmon that had been pan fried with a layer of sesame seeds, which came with rice and almonds-delicious. Neil had steak on a skewer with couscous and hummus. The best part was that it was so, so cheap!! We would definitely recommend Brazil if you are on a budget trip!!



We had a few more beers back in the hostel, using up the last of our Brazilian Real currency before heading to bed to watch a few Grimm season 3 episodes.



Love V&N xxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 14; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0367s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb