Typical Start...or the lack there of


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Rio de Janeiro » Rio de Janeiro » Botafogo
September 24th 2009
Published: September 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well, we made it. That´s surprising considering the trials it took to get here. I want to say thanks to Brad for taking me to Checker Auto Parts to get a new battery for my ´91 pick-up that was sitting void of life in the middle Fox street at 9 pm, 8 hours before I had to be on my way to the airport. After an hour and a half wrestling with the ol´SOB we got it started and I made it home. Jess and I made our morning flight after three hours of sleep. 24 hours of airport inflation and sitting like a pretzel in economy...apparently you can´t even donate a kidney to get an exit row these days. We flew Denver to Boston, to Washington D.C., to Sao Paulo, and finally to Rio. It is no surprise that my bag is currently sitting in Boston as I write this at my hostel. Sweet. Luckily I had my toiletrie kit that was robbed of nearly all of their contents at DIA and a fresh pair of drawers and a tee. A hot shower and a clean set of sheets and I´m ready to roll. Luckily it was my bag and not Jess´; I think some of us have seen this girl when someone screws with her program! The weather is cloudy and somewhat chilly. I think beers and relaxing are in store until the airport hopefully delivers my bag tomorrow. If all goes well we will be off to Isla Grande to hike about on this rain forest covered island. Wll touch base down the road a bit. Take care and for those of you who aren´t aware (and who know Aaron), Aaron and Meghan Swedberg just had a baby girl yesterday. Her name is Lily. Congratulations to you both. Tchau,
Mike and Jess

Advertisement



24th September 2009

So glad to hear that you made it, with minimal wear and tear (considering) Hope that your bag makes it, Mike! Love Mom
10th October 2009

wahoo!
hiking the rain forest island??? ohhhh i wanna be there. upload some photos you two!!! love you so much. watch out for bugs :)
7th December 2009

Incredible
Hey guys, I finally caught up on your blog (raining today in SF, but Jose keeps calling me mike). Your trip looks amazing, and your descriptions sound like they are doing the views justice. The only shame is that neither of you fly fish, I'll bet you passed on some beautiful trout. I'm glad to hear you are having so much fun and meeting so many nice people. Stay safe guys, miss you.

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0321s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb