Paraty


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Rio de Janeiro » Paraty
March 5th 2011
Published: March 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Paraty - prounounced Para-chi. What a little heaven on earth - and it rained all bar 10 minutes of our 48 hours here. I can´t imagine what it is like with the sun out!

Driving towards the coast from Sao Paulo really made my heart beat a little faster. The scenery was spectacular dark green rivers weaving around the lucious mountains and then glimpses of the ocean. Aaaahhhhhhh!

I can´t even remember what time we arrived but it´s not important anyways - the place we stayed was really cool - hammocks on every balcony! We wandered in to town to check it out. What a lovely little place. The marina is filled with brightly coloured schooners and sailing boats. The streets of the old part of town are for foot traffic only - which is a good thing because you could break your neck on the uneven cobbled roads - I wouldn´t like to wear high heels out on a Saturday night! There is old men selling cakes on trolleys in the street for next to nothing and plenty of galleries and boutique gift shops, a real tourist destination!

We had a group dinner which was ok - nothing spectacular in terms of food! And a few drinks. Paraty is reknowned for having good seafood so I when I ordered stuffed crab and mashed crab came out I was kind of dissappointed! We headed back to the hotel via the local hostel which seemed to be the place to be - they had a band (with another accordian) which was really cool and the place was filled to the brim with foreigners so we got to chat to a few other tour groups which was really nice! I headed home about 2am and left Nic with a group of Aussies to hang out with. She came home shoeless and cameraless, but we are trying to be very proud of her for lasting 3 weeks without losing anything. Not to mention I made her hand her wallet over to me before I left as we had both been to the ATM and cashed up for Rio and she had only put a new memory card in her camera in Sao Paulo so it´s only a few photos that we have lost!

There was the option of doing a boat tour the following day but I ended up pulling out - it was still raining. Besides the town is so pretty, I felt like just having a wander and a bit of time to myself to reflect on the past few weeks - it´s been so intensely busy! A few of the other guys on tour decided to opt out of boating also and we all went for lunch together after I bumped into them in the local coffee shop. I can´t remember the name of the place we went to for lunch but the food was AMAZING we had a wonderful fish stew dish with rice called Moqueca de peixe , it´s a traditional Brazilian dish that John (from the tour) had read about in a book on Brazil which was followed by some beautifully fresh calamari! Yummmmm!

Afterwards we headed back to the coffeee shop and I had my first mocha since arriving in SA. My second coffee also - looks like I´ve squashed that addiction 😉 It was the prettiest mocha I have ever seen! All layered and stuff, I´ll put a photo up!

I met with the others after the boat and we had some drinks - poor Murray from our group had had an awful day (bloody women) so we decided the best plan of action was to drown his sorrows. By 4 in the morning, after a few tamborine and harmonica lessons (from the guy who worked at our hostel) later I decided I had definitely drowned Murray´s sorrows and went straight to bed 😉 We were woken by Mark (tour leader) telling us not to mention that we were responsible for singing ´kolling me softly´ with the tamborine at 2 in the morning to Irida (our token bogan Aussie) as she had already stated that she would most certainly be killing whoever it was that was singing and playing drums at 2 in the morning not very softly!

The next morning we were up VERY early for the bus to Rio.

I´ve been in Rio 3 days now but it is CRAZY here! Can´t wait to fill you in when things settle down - it´s a fabulous place!

Advertisement



7th March 2011

Hi my gorgeous girls, loving your travel stories cant wait to hear about the bits you can't put in black and white. I miss you soooo much Kell it feels like you have been gone don't know how I am going to go when I go to Saudi. You keep safe now love you xxxxooooo
8th March 2011

Carnivale??
Hi Kelbel Hope you're behaving yourself - can't wait to hear all about Carnivale... Mum said something about blue glitter body paint and a cowboy hat?? Love Fee xx
9th March 2011

Keep up the good work kelly. It's good to have some idea of whats happening and where you are. Look after the birthday girl this week.

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0274s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb