Some pictures...Finally


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Rio de Janeiro » Ilha Grande
March 11th 2006
Published: March 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Stones NightStones NightStones Night

Buses lined Copacabana Ave from start to finish (about 4km) waiting to take away all the drunkards. At 6am all were full adn people were fighting to get on.
So apparently the blog site wasn´t allowing pictures to be uploaded adn that is why there were none on my last update. I thought I would take this blog to tell a brief story....

When we got to Ihla Grande we, like many of the other backpackers on their way there did not have a place to stay. We moved quickly to get ahead of the pack and search out our poussada, or the elusive hostel. As it turns out pousada after pousada was full, even the ones that were handing out flyers at the docks. The other problem was that the ones that were not full cost about 40 R each a night - far out of our budget. Anyway, after over an hour of searching Jord stumbled upon this place (we had split up to be more efficient) that would only cost us 25 each a night. The room had it´s own bathroom, and while there were four other beds, the guy said we would have it all to ourselves. Weird, considering all the other places on the island were full, and charging more. But we tried not to give it another thought....

That night, after trying
Dos RiosDos RiosDos Rios

One of the many beaches on Ihla Grande. This one, Dos Rios is on the other side of the island (1 hour hike?)
long and hard to get to sleep (with a temp of 30 degrees, it is not easy) we finally did. Some time in the night, however, the owner of the place brought in a family into our room to stay the night, but it was not our room anymore, but a jail cell. I woke up in a cold sweat, thankful that it was just a dream. But then, when I looked around our room, there was indeed a family standing there, going through JOrd´s and I bags. I got up and went to find the owner to figure out what the hell was going on. He said there was nothing he could do. Before matters got worse I woke up again. Not sure whether this time was real or not I slowly scanned the room. The heat of the room hit me, and this time I knew it was just another malaria dream. Until next time.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

ABraoABrao
ABrao

Main village on Ilha Grande from above
Paraty Paraty
Paraty

It´s a hard life...but someone´s gotta do it.
Ihla GrandeIhla Grande
Ihla Grande

The cold water pool...so nice.


11th March 2006

...got nothin'!
Incubus has got nothing on you, my friend! HAHAHA
12th March 2006

Where are you two?
Ryan and Jord, Where are you? I hope everything is ok with you, I would like to meet you again, You both seems yo be nice people, although, if you are Andre's friends, you are also my friends! I hope you have a good journey! Please, send me your news! If you need help, I am here! Best wishes, Taís

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0608s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb