Greetings from Brazil


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Pernambuco » Olinda
February 1st 2007
Published: February 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

My PousadaMy PousadaMy Pousada

Pousada Quatros Cantos: where I've been staying. You can't really see much from this photo, but the trees are part of the garden of the hotel.
After spending over 14 hours travelling, I finally made it to Brazil. I can't really complain about my journey, except for the extra hour spent in the sky between Lisbon and Recife. My pousada (guest house in brazil) decided to welcome me with a caipirinha (a cocktail), which definitely helped after all that travelling.

I'm currently in a town called, Olinda, which is down the coast from Recife. Olinda is pretty beautiful, full of palm trees, churches and art shops / galleries. I'll put up some photos later. Its quite hilly, which makes it difficult to explore when your body is adjusting to the heat and a new time zone. Its also surprisingly easy to get lost!

My first travel buddy is an American called Will, who arrived at exactly the same time as the me. So we decided to explore Olinda together. He's now left to head off to Salvador. Will's been travelling around South America a lot, so I've picked up advice. I also met some Canadians in a restaurant last night and they gave me some tips as well. Generally most of the tourists around here seem to be Brazillian.

Fatboy slim is in Recife, giving a free show tonight on the seafront. If I can figure out how to get there and back safely I'll probably go.




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Mosterio de Sao BenitoMosterio de Sao Benito
Mosterio de Sao Benito

Inside Mosterio de Sao Benito


Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 61; dbt: 0.098s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb