Iguazu Falls - Brazilian side


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Paraná » Foz do Iguaçu
December 22nd 2005
Published: December 29th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Wow, Wow, Wow x 100000!!
I am so stunned by what I have seen today, Its hard to think of anything else to say to describe it!

I have been looking forward to seeing the Iguazu falls, for what seems like the whole of my life... and today I was there!

Not only that, Lo and I had the most amazing adventure packed day around the falls.

Ok (deap breaths...)
The day started with us crossing over to Brazil with our driver and the lovely Claire & Nathan who we met in our hostel - the fantastic Hostel Inn (hello!). I have never been on a day trip to Brazil before, so you can imagine how exciting it was!

We first went cycling for 9Km through the jungle on proper mountain bikes, the trees were amazing and there were 100s of butterflies flying around, really pretty and confident - they would just come and land on us and fly right beside us.

After the bike adventure we went to a bird watching post and looked out for birds, I never thought I would be a birdwatcher (patience is normally required!), but it was great, the stillness
the first peekthe first peekthe first peek

when my breath stopped
waiting for a bird and the excitement of seeing one was fab. We saw lots of colourful birds, but I am most excited about having seen a toucan, I cant believe that there is a bird with such a bright beak and we managed to see it.

The adventure continued when we boarded a boat in the Rio Iguazu, the most glamourous river I have ever been in. It was stunning, really amazing.
We then got in Kayaks and paddled around the river - although (poor Lo) I kept forgetting to row as the river was too amazing to concentrate on the task of rowing. We kept getting caught up in the waves and would just spin around, it was great, so peaceful too.

Then, in pure abandonment, as it was so hot - we all just leaped into the water fully clothed, and swam around for a while, was so much fun.

After the kayaking we went on a safari through the jungle to look at the huge trees, including a giant bamboo that grows 10cm EVERY day, imagine!

Then ..... now this is the best bit.... we went on a boat that opened up onto the falls, thats when I got my first look at them. My breath really was taken away, it is the most dramatic, stunning and amazing thing I have ever seen. Every few metres it would look different too!.

We then went white water rafting down the Rio Iguazu, with the falls behind us creating the rapids! I cannot imagine a more perfect place to raft but on that river with the falls behind, WOW! Again we all got in the water with our clothes on and bobbed about in the river, the water just carried us down as we floated along, looking at the falls and experiencing the vastness of the Rio Iguazu.

Then Lo & I went walking along the catwalks to get closer to the falls, so close that we couldnt see sometimes for spray! There was a rainbow, really visiable on the falls. Every angle, every path the falls look and feel different. They are amazing (will try to find more words to describe them!) and I cant wait until tomorrow when I look at them from Argentina side.

You must come here - this whole day cost 160 pesos (about 35 quid!)
the fallsthe fallsthe falls

getting closer
and it really is a once in a lifetime.

Love
Hayley












Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

kayakingkayaking
kayaking

so much fun
giant bamboogiant bamboo
giant bamboo

i cannot believe it!!


30th December 2005

Hi Hayley & Laura, Happy New Year!! Great to meet you the other week. We´ve just been through Bariloche - more rafting, bit of horse riding, which were great and Christmas on the beach with some vino tinto - lovely! Down in Calafate now and recommend the Calafate hostel if you get this far south. You captured our day in the falls perfectly so if anyone asks me how it went I´ll just refer them to you! Hope the vodka got you through the bus journey... Enjoy! Love Nath & Clare
31st December 2005

Leah
It really isnt difficult taking beautiful photos when its so beautiful, yes you should definatly put a trip to Argentina on your plans Love Hayley

Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 26; qc: 116; dbt: 0.1128s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.3mb