From Rio to Iguaçu


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Paraná » Foz do Iguaçu
February 20th 2007
Published: February 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The first part of the day was spent travelling to and from the airport and on the plane. As the plane took off we had one last look at the beautiful views of Rio. One interesting thing I noticed was the very fine line of land that ended up in the formation of a small island.

Once we arrived in Iguaçu, for the first time since arriving in Brazil, my gut feeling told me it'd be safe for us to use the local bus to get to the hostel, instead of our usual pre-arranged taxi. I was right: we did not get mugged or felt such a threat. What was dangerous about the trip was that just before the bus stop the bus conductor made me go through the rotating gate and dropped my heavy rucksack on me, which slid down with a bang and on its way it scratched my arm. Believe it or not, now one and a half months later, I still have a scar! The bang from the rucksack hitting the floor was so loud that it attracted the attention of all the passengers. But that was all.

Vic was feeling unwell and the
A fine lineA fine lineA fine line

Very interesting - a fine line of land separated the ocean from one side to the other
lack of decent sleep wasn't helping her either, so she immediately went to bed. I stayed up uploading photos on my blog and waiting with excitement for Talal to arrive from Buenos Aires.

We stayed in Hostel Bambu. It was a nice hostel in terms of common areas and outdoor area with a swimming pool, which I would not touch. The staff, Argentinean, was helpful and welcoming. The room itself was dark and the aircon was the loudest ever. It probably was a good thing as it eliminated the noise from the people in the common area, which was right outside our room. Overall, the place was clean and the bathrooms were good.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 81; dbt: 0.0678s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb