Sao Paulo


Advertisement
Published: September 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

We arrived in Foz de Iguacu today after a 16hour busride from Sao Paulo, the whole journey was pretty hellish as we were hungover and we got the metro with our bags in rush hour, never ever to be repeated! We then waited and waited for a bus to our hostel which never did arrive so were predictably ripped off when we flagged down a taxi in our wet, half asleep haze and then paid 15R for a 5min trip!
On a more positive note it was well worth stopping in Sao Paulo as we went to stay with Guy. I was particulary impressed that he lives in a hotel suite so I was very happy to have a proper hairdryer and a bath the next day, small things! Sao Paulo actually impressed me more than I thought, there are not alot of sights, its a big sprawling city but very cosmopolitan and the night life is great. We had dinner at a great pizza place with the friendliest waitress in the world and almost everyones table had someone with a birthday, cue cheesy Happy Birthday song and dance (anything to do with the free cake anyone?)
We went to an Irish bar and predictably met lots of gringos! I was chatting to this guy for a while who told me he was a musician, a bass guitarist for a rock band, I being completely oblivious to the world of heavy metal had no idea who they were but Jon was quite impressed. They are called Sepultura, for those of you not in the know, a Brazilian thrash metal band with platinum selling albums across the world, he knows so many cool people, I was easily impressed, one of the other guys played with Iron Maiden. I have their contact details and next year when they play Manchester and Donnington he says we can go hang out with them backstage, so funny, can you imagine me there worrying about my hair and getting my heels runined!
Well an update on the rain, its not stopped, and its now very cold aswell! We are staying in what would be a cool hostel if it were sunny, someone desribed it as the set of dirty dancing which is certainly true! Tomorrow we go to the Falls which I am very excited about and I guess we'll get wet anyway so it doesn't really matter!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 13; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0326s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb