Heading off to Sao Luis


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Pará » Belém
February 13th 2006
Published: February 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I spent this WE on Ilha de Marajo, where the buffalos are wild and stroll around the streets. It is a very primitive island with few cars but many bikes. On the somewhat scary trip to the island (there were big waves, not a very stable boat, people were screaming, bags were flying everywhere and I think that the life wests were hanging there more for decoration than for other purposes :o) I met a bunch of crazy Frenchies that I ended up sharing room with. I had my first warm shower (or should I say boiling since it was either icecold or boiling, hihi) since I came to Brazil. Very nice. We had some nice buffalo meet and then explored the only disco in town. After having tried three times, the bouncer lady finally decided to let me in. I have no idea why she wouldnt let me in, only the boys... Anyway, we had a nice time and Sunday was spent strolling around the streets with the buffalos.
The trip was way too short, but I had to get back to Belem to take the bus to Sao Luis tonight.
Everything is really great here - even though it is rain-period the weather is fine (and I dont get sun-burnt), and the country is beautiful and the people are soooo nice and helpful. Whenever I ask something they immediately stop with what they are doing and make sure that I get what I need or get to the place I need. Whenever asked for directions they dont merely point out the right way, oh no, they follow me to the place and make sure I am taken care of. Oh, I am so glad I finally came here - life couldnt be better!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0301s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb