Beleeeeza


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Minas Gerais » Ouro Preto
July 21st 2006
Published: July 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Vista de Ouro PrêtoVista de Ouro PrêtoVista de Ouro Prêto

This was the view from my hostel, looking out across the hills beautiful architecture of the city.
Oi gente!

This is my first entry in my Travel Blog, so get excited! After a good 30 hours straight of traveling, I made it all the way from Atlanta to Washington D.C. to São Paulo to Belo Horizonte to Ouro Prêto--my first destination.

Arriving at the hostel at 1:00 in the morning, I wasn´t quite sure what was going on, but at breakfast the next morning I talked with a Brazilian named Dávide. Later on he invited me to go see the city with him a few other people. As it turned out, they were a big group of graduate history students (20 or so) from UNESC, a college in Santa Catarina, taking a trip to see the city. I was immediately adopted by them and we had even seen the sights with a free guided tour from the professors.

I ended up hanging out with them for the rest of my time in the city. They were a really fun, crazy bunch of kids. It was a bit tiring being with them constantly because, well, they´re Brazilian, they´re crazy, but also because I´m adapting to life with just Portuguese. I actually am surprised at how well
Churrasco!Churrasco!Churrasco!

Nothing is more Brazilian that a good churrasco, some cold beer, and good friends. It was quite an evening.
I´m speaking and it´s made the trip so enjoyable thus far because I´m hanging out with all types of people.

My first full day there we had a big crazy party in the hostel with churrasco (Brazilian barbeque) and lots of Skol (a popular beer). We also invited a group of Belgians that were in the hostel and my Australian roommate Peter, so I acted as intrepreter a lot of the evening. Still, it´s really cool to see what can translate across cultural and linguistical lines.

The city of Ouro Prêto itself is gorgeous. It claims to have no building built in the 20th century which is believably, but probably no entirely true. Twenty-three different churches stand out from the landscape that raising and falls in a sea of hills. I saw at least half of them over the two full days I was there.

This region had a huge gold rush in the 18th century and as a result, the city exploded. It was also very important because of a revolutionary figure Tiradente (literally ´tooth-puller,´ he was a dentist) lived and stirred up the first revolution against Portuguese rule and the gold tax that they were
A ceremônia de baptismoA ceremônia de baptismoA ceremônia de baptismo

Initation into the grad history program at UNESC, presided over by professor Iván and a mysterious hooded priest.
imposing on Brazil. Eventually he was capture and quartered and drawn in Rio de Janeiro.

Today Ouro Prêto is a town rich in history despite the gold drawing up long ago. Also, you can get a ridiculous work-out from constantly ascending and descending all of the cobblestone streets that regularly can be anywhere from a 20 to 40 degree incline.

I already miss all the great friends I made there, but now I´m on to new adventures, in Bahia, a very tropical state that is also rich in Brazilian history. I´m going to take a day to check out Porto Seguro on the way up to Salvador. Até mais!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Igreja de _________Igreja de _________
Igreja de _________

Another beautiful church whose name escapes me now. Like I said, there were a lot of them.
Matriz da Nossa Senhora do PilarMatriz da Nossa Senhora do Pilar
Matriz da Nossa Senhora do Pilar

An example of what most of these barroque churches look like, this one has the most gold of any of them in the city--435 kg on the woodwork inside!
As ladeirasAs ladeiras
As ladeiras

Super steep roads all throughout the city make for great-looking calves. This road is about a 35-40 degree incline.


21st July 2006

What to say
Sounds amazing.
22nd July 2006

wow
Great update, I followed the link from your lj. That's amazing that you're actually traveling and doing what you said. I can't wait to start traveling all over central europe next year (hopefully, if the finances permit). Good luck on your adventure, and I look forward to reading more!! =) your lj friend, Alisha (oilofjoy)
26th July 2006

sweet travels
Sounds like you're off to a great start!! Just don't wake up in any hospitals w/ an IV in your arm!!! Keep em comin!!
22nd August 2006

OMG
Brazilians are not crazyyy! lol Nós somos é felizes! :D Nice entry. I used to have a travelblog. But my trip is now over... so sadddd. Abraço
19th September 2006

Demonstracao do aviao no Brasil
Prezado Andy, I just left Brasil last week and we are in Montevideo today demonstrating a bizjet to the Confederacion Sudamericana de Futol. We go back to Asuncion, Paraguay tomorrow and then on to Santiago, Chile and back to the U.S this Friday. Parece que Voce esta viajando muito e vendo muitas partes interessantes do Brasil. Isso me deixa muito contente que outro Americano esta decobrendo os prazeres do Brasil e aprendendo o Portugues. Esta oitimo! Parabens para Voce. Tudo de bom para Voce, Larry Cheek Amigo do Glen Simmons
20th September 2006

Larry, adorei Brasil. Faz quase dos meses exatamente que eu tava aí, e agora que toh na Argentina, já tenho saudades! Mas sim, havia poucos americanos viajando pelo país. Acho que conocí apenas dois mais. Tudo bem, nós somos os que conocemos os prazeres do Brasil. Até mais, Andy.

Tot: 0.178s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 13; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0845s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb