São Luis


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Maranhão » São Luis
February 2nd 2010
Published: September 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Vacation from my work in China, and back again to Brazil, it is always nice to be in Brazil, this time my destination is the north of Brazil, the Maranhão estate, to visit the national park of Lençois Maranhense, that was a place I always wanted to go.
First of all I arrived in Sao Luis, the capital of Maranhão estate, I was impressed by the city, even the low incoming and chaotic appearance, there is a strong feeling of culture, museum, art exhibition, music and film festival, that is all I found during the few days I stayed in São Luis. The funny thing was while I was watching the movies in the film festival, I met a Italian girl, she is going to Rio de Janeiro after tomorrow to find her friend, and I am going to Rio de Janeiro one week later to visit my friend there. When I was in Rio de Janeiro one week later, walking on Santa Teresa with my friend, there was a preparation for the carnival, a lot of people with fantasy, and we met the Italian girl on the street, the another incredible thing is the friend of Italian girl is also the friend of my friend from Rio de Janeiro, what small world!!
Back to Maranhão, to access the Lençois Maranhense national park I need to go to the Barreirinhas city, that was about 4 hours by bus from São Luis. Lençois Maranhense is a huge white sand dune with beautiful water pools, but only being there I discovered that the best period to visit the place is June or July, after rain season, then there will have more water pools, so when I went there the park was a little dry, but it is also beautiful just not so impressive. Inside the park there are trips by car, by boat or hiking, that is so many way to explore the place, visiting a little communities there, swimming in the river, pools or ocean, for all of these things I recommend to have a guide, you can be lost there easily.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.432s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.3576s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb