Sao Luis


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Maranhão » São Luis
September 26th 2009
Published: September 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


We arrived yesterday at the bus station not really knowing where we were going to go, all we knew is that we need to get eventually to Belem at the Amazon so got the bus to Sao Luis. I am starting to get used to the bus times here, when they say it will take 24 hours it will actually take an extra three as this has happened on nearly all our buses!! For the first time we got great seats on the bus right up the front so no toilet smell and no one reclining their seat into my face 😉
We arrived just after sunset and made our way by local bus to the city centre where it seemed to be party central. I picked our hostel from Lonely Plant, it is cheap but one can see why, while Anne was having a shower I went to find a bin and some locl brazilian was strolling around the Pousada. She came up and was asking if I had a girlfriend and that I was very beautiful, for a brief moment I felt flattered until I quickly realised she was a hooker looking for the gringo´s!! Haha, well at least Anne thinks im hot!!!
We went out for a beer and Met two locals in the hostel, Julie and Rai. The four of us had a few beers on the street, there was a live band playing. Was really nice although for some reason I didnt feel hugely safe, maybe because there was no other gringos about!!
After we left the bar we headed back to get a good nights sleep only to realise our bedroom window was beside where the live music is coming from. I thought I would not sleep but after about 10 minutes I was sound asleep, woke up a few times to some heavy beats but nothing to worry about!
We got up this morning to have breakfast which is included in our bill and the girls in the kitchen looked extremely confused, we managed to get a milkshake and some toasty sambos so I was happy. Think I ate something dodgy last night though so staying close to a bathroom today 😞
I am now trying to find a way to a national park a few hours away, for a two day tour it cost over 100 yoyo´s so trying to figure out how we do it ourselves!! Think we are going again for a few beers with our locals friends so wil update soon! no photo´s again I´m afraid, need some time to load them up!!

P.S. I cant for some reason send messages from my phone even though I have credit, dont know why. Steve or dad, maybe you could call 02 and ask them why? This is why I have not txt anyone back!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.222s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 67; dbt: 0.1753s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb