Bom dia do Brasil!


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Bahia » Itacaré
January 25th 2009
Published: January 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Cristo RedentorCristo RedentorCristo Redentor

Keeping his watch...
Brasil Brasil! Land of sun and sea and toned bodies - oh yes indeedy, I´ve arrived! First few days were in Rio (pronounced Hee-o) in a little hostel a stone´s throw from Copocobana beach. Due to risk of muggings I didn´t take my camera anywhere in Hee-o but if you imagine the beaches were packed as it´s the height of summer, the sun was searingly hot, and little me was sat amongst it all like a little belisha beacon, the whitest, sweatiest thing in sight. There now, thats a nice mental image to start with :-)

I did manage to do a guided tour to the main sights (with camera) but as I didn´t feel entirely safe and so not at liberty to do what I wanted under my own steam, I didn´t stop for long in Hee-o, though I was there long enough to have a fun night out with some of the others in the hostel: On the Saturday night the hostel owner was out so the guy left in charge initiated drinking games with the owner´s cachaca (ummm! so naughty!) - I faired pretty well considering I was the only non Portuguese or Spanish speaker! Then followed
Tourists at Cristo RedentorTourists at Cristo RedentorTourists at Cristo Redentor

and Pao de Azucar in the background
a few caipirinhas on the beach and a trip to Lapá, the bohemian night-owl area of the city and to hear some live music and dance in the balmy night air! It was cool!

Now I´m in Itacaré and have dedicated myself to putting abit of colour in my skin via some good old beach relaxation. So, days here are invariably spent lounging on one of several idyllic beaches with various friends (Brazilian and otherwise) from the hostel, communicating in quite effective portañol (a heady mixture of portuguese and Spanish) and eating copious amounts of fresh fruit. Then in the evenings watching capoeira (still totally incredible to watch even though I´ve seen it loads before), supping cairinhas, hearing the local forró music being played and dancing into the night - yay!

So, that´s all for now. Next installment sooooooon x x x




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

CapoeiraCapoeira
Capoeira

Just doing their thing in the local square
PrainhaPrainha
Prainha

Approach to lovely secluded beach after an hours walk
Headland Headland
Headland

On the way to Prainha
Dancing ForróDancing Forró
Dancing Forró

Always fun!


Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 14; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0474s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb