Solo Travelling Week Three/Four


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Amazonas » Manaus
February 2nd 2010
Published: February 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone...

So, I´m in Manaus at the other end of the Brazilian Amazon from where I wrote to you last. I´m alive and well (just about) and still having a great time. There is now only a week left of my travelling before my jaunt home (so excited!), so I´m cramming in as much as I can before then.

The boat trip was an interesting experience...on my deck alone there were 400 people slung up in hammocks right next to eachother. There were 3 toilets for over 200 women, which made personal hygiene a little difficult. Sleep was also hard to come by, as if anybody moved in their hammock there was a domino effect all the way down the line... I met some really cool people though and had a great time.

I arrived in Alter do Chão on Friday evening and was sick with a horrendous tummy bug until Sunday morning. Sunday I spent on the lake, going to private beaches and to forests that are underwater for 6 months of the year. Then Monday I went into the jungle (not deep, as I was really weak from being so ill) and had lunch with a family and generally explored the amazing force of nature that is the Amazon.

Last night i flew to Manaus and I´m here until tomorrow night, when its off to Brasilia....

More soon

x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0319s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb