George of the Jungle returns


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Amazonas » Manaus
July 27th 2008
Published: July 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I´m back in Manaus and so many great things have happened I have no idea where to start.
First place to start is my amazing guide and friend Elso Lima. If it hadn´t been for this guy I wouldn´t have seen a fraction of the things I´ve seen: I would have put my hand on the pink-toed tarantula that was hiding behind a leaf on the tree I was about to rest my hand on at our base camp in the jungle instead of putting his machete through it: I would have been completely and hopelessly lost in the dazzling mazes of canals and mysterious flooded forests, but Elso always found a way back to the camp by some fundamental guide power, in the dead of night with only a dull flashlight beam, the countless stars and the echoing music of the forest to help him.
I have had the help of guides in many parts of the World over many years, but it is safe to say that Elso is one of the finest I´ve travelled with: his knowledge of the plants and animals was first class, his survival skills astounding. When he was in the army, they dropped him in the middle of the jungle with a rifle, a map and a compass and gave him three months to make the rendezvous. Having seen the guy in action, I can see why he made it!
So here´s how it all went:
We left from Manaus passing by the Meeting of the Waters, where the muddy brown Solimoes river meets the black water of the Rio Negro and from there is called the Amazon. Elso tells me all about it and we press on to the dock and a bus ride down the Trans-Amazonas highway, to a small boat for a gorgeous hour long ride to the Lodge on one side of Marimar Lake.
It´s a tremendous spot. We make fast friends with a group of Brazilian tourists there and accompany them that night into the flooded forest in a boat to spot alligators and Caimans. Elso literally leans out the front of the boat and snatches one out of the water with his hands! We get to hold it, find out about it, as Elso coaxes its mouth open to show us the lack of a tongue. It´s really cool out there at night, mysterious sounds echoing, the reflected flash from hidden eyes.
Back at the lodge we all play cards till late in the night, a great British card game called ´´Poophead´´ (the polite name for the game).
The next day was action packed and brilliant: Elso paddles us silently into the flooded forest, which is a stunningly hypnotic and beautiful place. Elso spots a three-toed sloth in a tree, climbs the tree and brings the mother and baby down for us to hold briefly - then returns them to the tree, where the mom instantly goes to sleep. Next, we see an anteater, and not for the last time, Elso tells me I´m lucky (he says we saw more animals and birds in nine days than a tour twice that long usually does). Next we see pink river dolphins cresting and breathing. Beautiful. And that was all before lunch!
Back at the lodge an interesting chap, also a guide, a rastafarian named Sami shows up back from a few nights in the forest. Very entertaining chap. The Brazilians leave but not before unfolding a giant anaconda skin for a photo op!
In the afternoon, we intend to go piranha fishing, but we decide instead to drive on across the gorgeous, shimmering late afternoon water. We cut into the flooded forest where Elso takes me to see the gigantic Mother tree, and I snap away. We hear a rare and strange sounding macaw. Elso finds an island of giant lily pads and we see grey dolphins dancing and jumping out of the water alongside the boat. We drive over to the fantastic Island of birds where thousands of cormorants and herons hang black and white from the trees. It is going dark and the camera struggles to capture the sight. But it does capture a beautiful sunset.
In he dark now navigating through mazes of canals thick with caiman, alligators and who knows what else, Elso guides us and paddles us.We get stuck in the weeds for twenty minutes , but we dig our way out by dragging the boat across the weeds by hand. This was high adventure for a while! Eventually, thanks to Elso, we make it across the moonless, starfilled Mamori lake back to the lodge, back at the lodge in time for rice, fish and beans.
What a fantastic start!
And it just got better and better from there.
I´ll write part 2 of this in the next couple of days: I have a 3:00am flight to Cuiaba tonight, and I´m exhausted from the big village festa adventure we had last night.
You´ll have to wait to find out about that, I´m afraid!
See you on the flypaper.
mike


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



27th July 2008

Wow.
Maybe I am the lucky one to first see this entry? Probably because I have no life. Anyway.....WOW and WOW. Very impressed at what you've seen and done! Can't wait for more. We've missed you :) xo, Suze
27th July 2008

Mysterious flooded forest photo
Now that is a cool picture. (yes, 2 consecutive comments. like i said....a real life has escaped me). How on earth does a person come home after such an adventure? I'd be afraid that I....just wouldn't. Ever. Suze
28th July 2008

Welcome back
Couldn't wait for more and as usual I am not disappointed Madison was impressed as I was that you got to hold a sloth. Sounds like you had alot of fun can't wait for more..Sorry to be greedy, but it sounds like there is alot more to be had. Stay safe
28th July 2008

George
Hey George of the Jungle. I was getting nervous. Glad you survived!
29th July 2008

JUngle
Hey George, Glad to finally here from you. It sounds so amazing and so so worth it. Very happy to hear about your adventures and that you survived it all. will be waiting for the next installment of your trip and more photos. enjoy and stay safe Lucille
29th July 2008

Nice!
I think that is all I will say. Having a great time but that is the one thing I was envious of from day 1! As you know, there really is no comment for such things. Just wanted to say hi. Even I was counting the days. Hated to think the Amazon went all Dogon on you!
29th July 2008

Eric
It was fantastic, mate - adventures galore - lost in canals at night, giant spiders, snakes, monkeys, coatis, anteaters, harpy eagles, and, more than that, the stunning, majesterial forest buzzing with a sound that I now think was probably the origin of music! mike
29th July 2008

Kristin
Cheers. It´s nice to catch up with your adventures, too. Cambodia seems to have hit you in the heart. Anyone for Africa next year? mike
29th July 2008

Marie
Thanks. There is a lot to tell, you´re right. Man, it was fun! mike
29th July 2008

Suze and Gia
I took some great pictures of the forest. I wonder if I´ll ever get to see them again? mike
5th August 2008

Question about Lodge
Hi Mike! Great post and it sounds like a super adventure. I am going with 3 friends to that area and we are trying to decide on the Lodge to stay. We are considering Juma Lodge or Malocas Lodge. Just wondering if you happened to stay in any of these, or if you have any recommendations. Sounds like you had a great guide, Elso! Thanks! Elizabeth
5th August 2008

Amazon Lodges
Hi Elizabeth. People I spoke to said the whole Juma area was more touristy than Mamori lake. I can´t say. I can say that Mamori lake was very beautiful. I would recommend going into the forest as much as possible rather than just staying in the lodges and doing the day trips. If you want to try Elso for yourself, he works with Claudio at the Hotel 10th July in Manaus. He is not in the guidebook yet, but two agencies that are the highest recommendations are also based in the Hotel, so you can shop around all three in about one hour! Have a great time in the jungle! mike

Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 15; qc: 73; dbt: 0.1049s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb