Tarija, Bolivia


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » Tarija Department » Tarija
February 10th 2010
Published: February 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Las Cascadas y yo!Las Cascadas y yo!Las Cascadas y yo!

Trying to prove I was there I guess...
Después de Sucre, I got on a bus and headed to Tarija, a town at the very south of Bolivia. Tarija is tiny town but really cool, a lot of action for such a small place. Markets fill the streets, there are always people in the plazas and walking about town, vendors everywhere you look selling fruita, Humitas (like tamales), salteñas (Bolivia´s empanada), hamburgesas o dulces. Tomorrow is ¨Día de Comadre¨, similar to ¨Día del Compadre¨ that I celebrated in Potosí but for the ladiessss!

I´ve been here for a few days, taking a travel break más o menos. This has been the first time in my last two months or so of travel that I have really been alone, and I´ve decided that I´m not a big fan of traveling sola, (Mom, Dad and Bridge know, I had a ¨homesick breakdown¨ for the first time two days ago!).

In Tarija, I´ve been hanging out around town, catching up on sleep, reading (on my second novel in Spanish, go me!), having avacado and cracker picnics in the plazas, etc. Super relajada. Yesterday I took a bus about 5km ouside of Tarija to a little town called Tomatitas, from there
Plaza SucrePlaza SucrePlaza Sucre

I picnic here almost everday :)
I walked through mountains, cornfields and cows to a sleepy little town called Cuimata, where I hiked up a river to some waterfalls and had lunch.

Think I´m going to head into the north of Argentina in a few days, planning on spending Carnaval in a pueblo called Tilcara before hitting up Salta and Cordoba. Getting pretty tired of traveling (weird, never knew it was possible), so I think I´lll be heading back to Santiago after Cordoba.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Casa de CulturaCasa de Cultura
Casa de Cultura

Everytime I´ve passed it´s been closed... I have yet to enter La Casa de Cultura de Tarija!
Walk to CuimataWalk to Cuimata
Walk to Cuimata

So peaceful.
AlmuerzoAlmuerzo
Almuerzo

Lunch of avacado, crackers, cucumber (and a girl after my own mothers heart, of course I bring salt with me wherever I go!).
CemetaryCemetary
Cemetary

Came across this cemetary while walking to Cuimata (don´t worry, they´re burning trash not bodies).
HikeHike
Hike

It was about a two hour hike through town then up the river.
ahhhh!ahhhh!
ahhhh!

relajadaaaa.
Pastel anyone??Pastel anyone??
Pastel anyone??

Women bake extravagant cakes and sell them by the slice in the plazas. yummm.


Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 17; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0273s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb