Summer Christmas in Tarija


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » Tarija Department » Tarija
December 30th 2005
Published: January 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Thank the Good Lord for two wonderfully laid-back Peace Corps Bolivia Volunteers, Rebecca and Lauren.

I was in southwest Bolivia with no plans for the Holidays. In order to make sure I didn't spend Christmas alone reading The DaVinci Code in some dark musty hostel, I invited myself to little Peace Corps Christmas party in Tarija, Bolivia. I didn't know Rebecca or Lauren, but I decided the PC bond would make up for any deficiences in our nonexistant relationship.
They welcomed me warmly and even gave me the guest bedroom on the roof with wonderful view of the town. I made myself at home.....and then decided to stay for 8 days.
Tarija has little to do for an itinerant gringo. It was perfect. I ate saltenas, drank coffee, and sat in the park. I had no desire to move on or join up with some tour group. I simply relaxed.
This rather bland blog entry relfects the activity-less time I spent in southern Bolivia. I was even too lazy to take pictures.
On the 29th, I decided that I must move on. Down to Mendoza for another week of indolence.
Thanks again to Rebecca, Lauren, and the PC Bolivia crew
Christmas FiestChristmas FiestChristmas Fiest

These Volunteers know how to cook! Turkey, mashed potatos, mac n' cheese, stuffing, everything.
for spoiling me over the holidays.



Advertisement



14th January 2006

chicken socks
mike, just wondering how many people you have seen in your travels who have chicken pox? and where are we ever going to put all of those casa's (spanish word for house)?

Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0794s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb