New Plans...


Advertisement
Published: January 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well, when we went to book the tickets to Cartegana, the flight for the next day had already sold out, and the next one that had room did not leave until Sunday. On top of that, the price for 189 was only for one way, and well apparently Columbia requires visitors from Canada and the United States to have a return ticket prior to entering. We might have chanced it were we going to Columbia (after all Costa Rica has the same requirement but did not check), but we wanted to get into South America ASAP. There were no flights to Lima on the day we wanted to leave, and flights to Quito and La Paz were pretty expensive considering. Anyway, the lady mentioned Santa Cruz, a city that is in Bolivia as it turns out. We had never heard of the city before she mentioned the name, hell it could have been anywhere for all we knew. We decided to go with that one. Why the hell not? We had grand fantasies of snow caped mountains, eewalks, abominable snowmen and other such cool things. Alas, it is 29 degrees, is surrounded by plains, and has some of the best ice cream in the world. It was good...and cheap. 50 cents for a double scoop. However, because it is so hot, you have to eat it pretty damn fast. I think I will stick with one scoop at a time or something.

None of us had done that much research on Bolivia, or even knew if we were going to come here, so we´ll have to figure out what we will be doing from here. I bought a new camera in Panama City...my luck finally ran out and I was stung by a thief. Person riped off my camera. Yeah, I was stupid and left it in my bag, but hey, there were only like 8 people in our room, 2 of whom you and I already know. Anyway, when I went to the police station to get a report for my insurance, I said that I was pretty sure that it was this girl that had left that morning. (At least I think that is what I said). The reason being that I was sure the camera was in the bag before I went to breakfast, and 2 hours later it was gone just as she was leaving.

The police went far beyond what I expected them to do, and the people at the hostel. I thought I was going to have trouble just getting a report (which never came mind you), but the police came back with me to the hostel, talked to the owner who had the name of the girl and her passport number. He was convinced that it was her as well, even though we really had no proof. The police took some information, asked me a few more questions, and made a few calls. The manager of the place said they had called all check points leaving Panama city and the airport to try and catch her. Yeah right...thanks for making me feel better, I really appreciate it, but all I really wanted was a report. After waiting hours for the police to return with the said report (another lady was waiting who had some motorbike parts stolen) I decided that I should go grap a new camera anyway. Pretty good deal, so I am happy with the purchase, it may even be better than the last. I was pretty excited about it, and my spirits were lifted once again. After all it´s only a camera. My pictures are hopefully at home safe.

Coming back into the hostel, David (the manager) was at the door. Now, I am sure that a lot gets lost in translation on my side and on his as my Spanish is questionable (on page 2 now of Potter). I thought he said that the girl who I thought had stolen it was upstairs. Kind of weird, maybe she could not get a ticket or something. Sure enough when I got to the 3rd floor of the apartment building she was there. After David returned, there was a heated exchange between myself, her and David, and a bag search...no camera was produced. I felt like a Donkey´s Ass. I was so sure. I guess that is why they have a burden of proof for the criminal justice system. My apologies to her. She was not pleased and I am sure she was calling me some very nasty names (she could only speak Spanish). Apparently, and Jas, Jord and I have formed some theories on this, she did not come back just because she could not find a ticket out of the city. Not sure what excatly happened, or who was involved, but I think the most interesting thing to take out of this was how much EFFORT the locals put into getting that camera back. My thanks to them. THe people of Panama City were truly some of the friendliest people I met thus far - friendly, and not wanting anything.

I´ll leave it there.

Ryan

Advertisement



7th January 2006

Bolivia
Hey Ryan, I have done quite a bit of research on Bolivia because when I go travelling it's going to be south America. A friend of mine travelled through there and these are the things she told me to do. Go to Potosi, they have great salt lakes which are supposed to be amazing. See some mines, they're incredible. Make sure you go to Sucre and La Paz (cities), and also see lake Titicaca, one of the hugest lakes with people living on it on floating islands made of weeds, it actually borders Peru and Bolivia so it might be a good place to go into Peru to get to Machu Pichu which is northeast of the lake area. Have a good time boys! Jode
7th January 2006

another paradise foung
Santa cruise good choice - you can tell from my previous e mails that i wasn't even close - but the ticket story is some what the same wouldn't you say.You are on the eastern side of the cordillera and from what i remember much hotter and a little more expensive. When in la paz their is a hotel downtown the you can take an elavator up to the top and get an amazing shot of illamani.

Tot: 0.191s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 15; qc: 76; dbt: 0.098s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb