MIA in Bolivia


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » Potosí Department » Uyuni
November 27th 2008
Published: November 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

First and foremost, I would like to wish you all a Happy Thanksgiving.
I realize that I have been slacking. I´ve been caught up in this still sometimes foreign world that amazes, amuses, frustrates, and enlightens me.
This blog, which has been taken straight from the pages of my newly aquired llama journal (thanks J!), will have to be short as I am headed on a three day jeep trek through the salt flats in approximately T minus one hour.

First a preface
I´ve just come off of a seven hour train ride through the snow. Every single adult in my cabin has at least two children, and they all cry intermittently during the ride. The seats recline, thank god, but they fall short about a foot leaving only a backing for my shoulders down. I can deal with this. After all, South Americans aren´t known for their height. So I slouch and place my bags over my legs for warmth against the cold gusts of wind that occasionally burst through the window.
Attempting to sleep is futile, not only because of the crying kids, but because they have chosen to play a movie about their perspective on the Iraqi war. So between crying, soft hushing from the mothers, gunshots, screams, and a rumbling belly, I totaled about 20 full minutes of sleep. Keep that in mind as you read this.

It´s 3am.
I am sitting on a wooden bench in a small train station in a town called Uyuni. After arriving I wandered the streets in the cold for 45 minutes shlecking my bags and checking over my shoulder for shadows in the night. When Hostal Avendia gave away their last three rooms to the men who rang the bell in front of me, I decided it was best to bounce back here.
There are about 20 Bolivianos bundled down on the floor and three benches that make up the waiting station. There´s a lone dog in the corner. I think the security man just tried to kick me out, but I used my patented ´no entiendo´ and he smiled and left me alone.
I´ll be okay here until sunrise. ( Pause for thought. Looking around.)
It´s almost like camping.............
but without the fire or the smores.........
and I don´t know any of these people.....
and I´m in a train station.....
and nobody has any tents.

But they do have blankets and large plaid bags that they are using to create forts around themselves.
And there is a dog......but no fish.
So yes, I would say I am camping.
Camping on Thanksgiving.
I should get my sleeping bag out.


Advertisement



27th November 2008

Worry about you
Dear Trish, All day yesterday and this morning you have been on my mind. Worrying about you. And here you are!.... Girl, you are giving your granny more gray (really white) hairs. So glad to get this Blog! Write more when you can. love, gram
30th November 2008

Missing You
Hi Trish, After reading your Blog and being the mother that I am I wonder - What the hell would possess a beautiful girl like you to wonder around all by yourself along in a foreign country? Trish you amaze me and frighten me all at the same time. BE SAFE - Love, Mary
3rd December 2008

MIA in Bolivia
Trishie--You are incredible! I am missing you so much. I thought your time away would go by quickly, but it is starting to drag... I am amazed at your courage and your strength to venture forth into such unchartered territory! Bolivia! We are all waiting with bated breath to hear of your latest adventures, and wishing like mad we were with you. Someday I hope we can travel together! In the meantime, stay safe and enjoy! Mary

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0316s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb