The markets of Uyuni


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » Potosí Department » Uyuni
December 28th 2006
Published: January 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

I thought I would create a short entry to describe and show pictures of the markets that Uyuni has on Thursday mornings. They could happen on other days but as I don't plan on staying in this town for a whole week, I don't know what other days they would be on. As I had to met at the tour agency office at 10:30AM, I decided to give myself lots of time in the morning to prepare. I packed up my stuff and then went for breakfast. The weather was nice enough to eat outside on a patio and it felt great to be doing that at the end of December. Breakfast was the normal thing you get when you are a tourist, bread and jam, eggs and coffee with milk. Locals don't eat at restaurants for breakfast so breakfasts are catered towards tourists, and for some reason these restaurants think that tourists like to eat bread and eggs every morning for breakfast.

When I woke up this morning there was a very loud noise coming for the streets. I had no idea what it was at the time, but later found out that a street vendor selling illegitimate CDs setup their stand in front of my hotel and these streets vendors always have a stereo to play music and test out CDs for customers. When I left the hotel, I was greeted by a large market that had formed on the main street of Uyuni outside the door of my hostel. Of course, like all other markets, you can buy just about anything here. I guess this is where the locals would buy everything because there are very few stores devoted to things like groceries and I don't recall seeing any stores that would sell clothes, except for traditional clothes that would be bought by tourists. I walked through the market for a bit, checking out all the good and buying some fresh fruit for the trip through of the Salar that I was departing on rather soon. I have read in many guides that there is never enough food on these tours...I guessed I should stock up on a bit of food and water.

Unfortunately my time to search through the market was cut short by needing to go to the tour agency to met my tour group and take off on a 3-day tour of the largest salt flat in the world.

These pictures are for the market enthusiasts out there like me!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Vegetables???Vegetables???
Vegetables???

From visiting restaurants in Bolivia, you would never imagine that they have markets where you can buy so many vegetables and for so cheap as well.


Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 18; qc: 98; dbt: 0.0925s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb