Finally - Bolivia


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » Potosí Department » Tupiza
June 18th 2006
Published: July 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Salta to Tupiza

Through Villazon border crossing

The Border crossing between Argentina and Bolivia at Villazon is amusing.
The two countries are connected at this point by a bridge, with immigration offices on both sides.
The funny thing is that nobody enforces the people going to Bolivia to enter them, so one can just walk by.
This is what happened to me by mistake. When I tried to correct it, I realized that crossing back to Argentina wasn't that simple, but after some explanations I managed to stamp my passport.

The border town of Villazon wasn't too inviting, so I took straight away a train to Tupiza, a few hours away.

I was expecting Tupiza to be similar to Villazon and the image I had of Bolivia - a 3rd world country with allot of poverty and problems.
But actually I found a great little town, with really nice people, that completely changed my opinion about Bolivia, and proved that things can be different.
In the surroundings of Tupiza I enjoyed horseback riding in a desert like scenery.

In Tupiza I also discovered how cheap Bolivia can be - I had a great room just for myself, for 18 Bolivianos, which are around $2US.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

TupizaTupiza
Tupiza

The main church
Around TupizaAround Tupiza
Around Tupiza

Horseback riding
Around TupizaAround Tupiza
Around Tupiza

Horseback riding
Around TupizaAround Tupiza
Around Tupiza

Horseback riding
Around TupizaAround Tupiza
Around Tupiza

Horseback riding
Around TupizaAround Tupiza
Around Tupiza

Horseback riding


Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0358s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb