Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » Potosí Department » Tupiza
July 12th 2007
Published: August 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After Potosi we headed to Tupiza a small place 8 hours down a shitty road on a clapped out bus. The reason I wanted to come her as it was the area where Butch Cassidy and the Sundance kid finally got caught by the authorities and apparently died in a blazing shoot out. I have loved the film with Paul Newman and Robert Redford since I was a kid and when I found out the place was actually real, I had to come! I have looked on the net for some background information for you, but so many stories, so if you’re interested have a look.

To get in the real swing of things we hired horses and followed some of the horse steps of the famous outlaws! The scenery was beautiful and just typical of the Wild West and reminded us of our visit to Arizona and Utah. The horses weren’t the best as they only listened to the guide and went in what ever direction they wanted to! The guide would whistle to get us to go faster! for me it was not good as the saddle didn’t have a pommel on the front and is something I need being only my second time on a horse otherwise I might fall off! As we got into a trot I would be all over the place and just waiting to hit the ground! Luckily I managed to stay on but wasn’t enjoying it. Once we got into a gallop it got easier to stay in control so the faster the better, not something my horse wanted to do!

The whole day was riding through some amazing landscape, bright red rock formations, pointy towers, and a dry river beds which was hard to believe were raging rivers in the rainy season! When we finally reached the home straight and the horses knew it and all they had on their mind was food, so now they were happy to go fast! It was brilliant, Michelle finally found out why the guide warned her how fast her horse was, it was like a sports car and easily 100 meters ahead of everybody else, she loved it!!

Our arses were sore afterwards and started to think it was a bad idea having a 4 day jeep tour booked for the day after!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Ingenious sign!Ingenious sign!
Ingenious sign!

Pizza parlour in Tupiza!
Another football pitchAnother football pitch
Another football pitch

I think I will have to start travelling with a ball as I have seen some amazing places to play!
Come on giddy up!Come on giddy up!
Come on giddy up!

I'll never be able to rob any banks on this!!


Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0315s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb