Salt... everywhere.


Advertisement
Published: March 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

As we traveled along, people kept asking us if we were headed to the "Salar de Uyuni". It was relatively on the way so we decided to take a peek. It is the biggest salt flat/lake in the world. With all the trouble we have had with the car lately, you would think I would not try to drive through the lake to a tiny island nearby to have a picnic lunch. Well, other cars, buses and salt trucks were driving along the shallow lake bottom so I gave it a shot. It was beautiful. Afterward, I had the underside of the car washed (to get rid of the corrosive salt water) and they asked if I wanted to have the car fumigated.

"Fumigated?"

I figured they had some kind of local pest that needed to be eliminated so I said "OK". Apparently, "fumigate" means to spray the entire underside of the car with used motor oil to prevent further rust. That was especially fun when I had to make a brief repair soon afterward and got plenty of the oil on my shirt. Here are a few pictures of the salt flat/lake and a local hotel built out of salt.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb