Hola de Bolivia!


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » La Paz Department » La Paz
October 6th 2006
Published: October 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The observant among you will notice that somehow I have managed to bypass the rather large country of Peru since MY last blog entry (the blog was temporarily overtaken by my enthusiastic Mum who managed a grand total of ONE blog entry - ta Mum!).

So what have I done in the last 5 weeks?

As it would take me a month of sitting in dodgy internet cafes where the keyboards don´t work to update it properly I have decided to write an "efficiently English" list (which also proves that I haven´t forgotten my roots quite yet).

1. In Ecuador climbed Volcan Corazon (4788m) and Volcan Illiniza Norte (5126m). Also made it to 5500m on Volcan Cotopaxi (5897m) before dodgy refugio food got the better of me and my stomach. Also started climbing in the middle of the night minus Colloseum music and cheap alcopops - not easy on the old body!

2. Trekking Circuit of Cordillera Huayhuash - 190km of walking and more walking (and even more walking). Over 10 days I climbed 7000m with 10 high altitude passes (including San Antonio 5079m aka "El Bastardo" as I think it nearly killed me!). Had 2 days of losing pack horses and donkeys - I´m not the only one who doesn´t want to work! Also, this area is where "Touching the Void" happened. Plus I learnt a valuable lesson about not to get involved in boiled sweet wars!

2. Met Mum and Sis in Lima and went to Cusco - Sacred Valley, Ruins around Cusco and the big MP (Machu Picchu) - slightly strange alternative experience there courtesy of the site guards who were into meditation with crystals. There are some penalties to speaking Spanish! Also had some museum love courtesy of Mum and am now an expert on everything Inca.

3. Overnight bus to Arequipa - god awful Peruvian bus with no legroom - nice hotel man Alfredo took our money and ran leaving us with Economy-economy-economy seats in the bus. Never believe a Peruvian promise of nice bus seats! Trip to Colca Canyon that never was - got no further than Chivay village as Sis ended up in hospital for 2 days with amoebic dysentry. Luckily it seems that doctors who wear Tigger outfits actually know something about medicine too! More time in Arequipa museuming as Sis had to recover.

4. Bus to Puno and a trip to Lake Titicaca - one word - BEAUTIFUL.

5. Bus to La Paz (including a breakdown at a nice scenic viewpoint for 2 hours - all part of the service here in Peru!).

6. Bye to Mum and Sis and now I find myself in La Paz.

So here I am after my first morning in La Paz - I have visited the Coca Museum - very interesting all about the history of Coca Leaves and Cocaine, and I went (quickly) through the Witches market where you can buy all kinds of things for alternative healing and magic - anyone in need of a dried llama foetus let me know!

Tomorrow I am going back to Lima - dreaded 2 day bus trip hopefully with some legroom and no scenic stop offs (aka breakdowns!).

Promise I will write soon. Love to all Karen x


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb