Down the road


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » La Paz Department » La Paz
August 17th 2006
Published: August 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

La Llama que llamaLa Llama que llamaLa Llama que llama

The symbol of our trip... the llama!
Hello everyone,
I hope you are all well and that everything in Canada and other parts of the world are going as well as they are here right now.
I have to apologise, I have been a horrible blogger, and have left Jenica to do all the writing to keep everyone up to date. My only excuse is that I’m quite lazy and would rather eat ice cream or go to the market then write a blog in a dark computer lab, but finally, I have found an internet center in La Paz, Bolivia that inspired me to catch up a bit.
As some of you know, our good friend Michelle Kissen flew into BA about a month ago and from there it has been a whirlwind adventure charging up to the north of Argentina, through Bolivia, up to Cuzco, Peru, and back down to Bolivia again. There has been much ice cream eating, lots of llama seeing, adventures crawling through the dynamic landscapes of Northern Argentina, a bit of trekking in the Andean mountains, a bit of drinking ¨cheat¨ card games, many new friends, and a bit of food poisoning just so we are reminded to appreciate it all.
I’m
Ahh,  animal love...Ahh,  animal love...Ahh, animal love...

Can you feel the love?? On Michelle's part there really was, however, I don't think the Llama was entirely convinced on Michelles true intentions... (she ate llama later on in the journy...)
not going to write much, since I always find that a day by day log of a backpacker really isn’t that interesting to read after about 3 explained days, but I just wanted to write a quick hello to everyone, let you all know that we are having a wonderful time here, and that I’m sure Jenica and I will write a good blog when we’re back in BA, which is only a little ways away!
I’m going to bike down the worlds most dangerous road tomorrow, so wish me luck…
Talk to you soon
Lindsay



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

The group shotThe group shot
The group shot

In the Quebrada of Cafeyate, with Diana and Franco (the two children of our driver) Juan Pablo, a travel addition, Michelle and I
The QuebradaThe Quebrada
The Quebrada

Tierra de fuego, montanas de hiero, comiendo me churipan... Our alternate lyrics for a song dedicated to the region, but since I have trouble with song lyrics, we just invented these ones...
Las SalinasLas Salinas
Las Salinas

The salt plains in northern argentina, with michelle flying throught the air like a bat out of hell, or a very well timed shot by the photographer
Las Salinas 2Las Salinas 2
Las Salinas 2

Looks pretty doesn't it... but oh my, it was quite cold!!!
Las Salinas 3Las Salinas 3
Las Salinas 3

At sunset
SalkantaySalkantay
Salkantay

The mountain that gave its name to our hike towards Manchu Picchu.
MorayMoray
Moray

An Incan meditation site where we participated in a ceremony to the Pachamama (mother nature)
Car Insurance In CopacabanaCar Insurance In Copacabana
Car Insurance In Copacabana

In copacabana on lake Titicaca, an unusual ceremony takes place. Twice every day the citizens have the right to have their car blessed as a means of alternate insurance.
Biking down the Worlds Most Dangerous Road....Biking down the Worlds Most Dangerous Road....
Biking down the Worlds Most Dangerous Road....

This is what I'm doing tomorrow... why? I'm not quite sure...


17th August 2006

looks awsome linds and Miche...hope all is well miss you girls good luck biking MIKE!
18th August 2006

viva la aventura
guapa, no sabes porque lo estas hablando, por la aventura, for the adrenaline, por las memories, historias, y por el pinche miedo. aprovecha todo, ya pronto se acabara. tqm.
18th August 2006

Livin´ and Lllama-in´
"Down the most dangerous road again"... since you love re-inventing lyrics Lindz, this seemed appropriate. =) You´ll be fine on that bike today, and I really hope to see you soon in the jungle. I miss chasing llamas with you!! P.S. To all those reading this; it´s LINDSAY who has the llama love obsession, not me. She even stalked one in Machu Picchu!!
25th August 2006

countdown
Hey Linzica Well I imagine you'll both be back in BA anyday now. Have fun in your last week, see you in Sept. thcau.

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 27; dbt: 0.032s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb