Sights of La Paz


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » La Paz Department » La Paz
June 16th 2006
Published: June 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Quick blog to show some pictures of La Paz....

Most of the time here was spent watching the world cup games, but we did manage to get to the Valle de La Luna which was pretty cool (see the pics). Plus afterwards I went to a cactus plantation which to be honest was pretty lame except for a bridge across a canyon. It had been fenced off by barbed wire so I figured it must be unsafe.... I however tried standing on it just to ´test´it out. It kind of rocked to the left a bit. On the side I was on the barbed wire had been pulled down so you could easily walk onto the bridge, however at the other side it was still all intact. There was a path down and then up the other side of the canyon to get to the other side, which I subsequently took thinking it was too dodgy to take the bridge, since it was clearly off limits and it had rocked when I stepped on it and it was Bolivia! Not the most safety concerned country. Once I got to the other side I couldn´t help wondering if the bridge would take my weight...

So I climbed over the barbed wire at this side and again tested the bridge. It seemed ok. I figured that I would only need to be on the bridge for around 3 seconds and if it did start to give way I could run to the other side where there was little barbed wire and it would be ok. I went for it... Needless to say the bridge held fine and I made the other side, it was quite a good adrenaline rush!

The other major event that happened in La Paz was a festival on the first day we arrived. It consisted of thousands of Bolvians dancing in processions in the street all to the same tune might I add, but was a colourful and fun day!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Plaza San FranciscoPlaza San Francisco
Plaza San Francisco

This was the main Plaza. On the Saturday it was full of people watching the festival...
View over the cityView over the city
View over the city

The magnificant backdrop to the city with 6000 metre mountains dominanting
Valle de la LunaValle de la Luna
Valle de la Luna

Another Valle de la Luna. We had been to one also at San Pedro in Chile. This one was however a bit different... it wasn´t a valley at all and was just a collection of strange shaped rocks made by water erosion.
Perfect blue skiesPerfect blue skies
Perfect blue skies

Me at Valle de La Luna
Bridge of death...Bridge of death...
Bridge of death...

It took me some minutes before I decided to cross this bridge


Tot: 0.18s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 76; dbt: 0.0785s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb