La Paz -> Santa Cruz -> Lima -> Houston -> Home


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » La Paz Department » La Paz
November 11th 2011
Published: December 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I didn’t have much time today as I had to leave around noon for my flight in the early afternoon. I bid farewell to the rest of the group as they went on a city tour and walked to check out Mercadode Hechiceria (Witches’ Market). I was there rather early and only a few shops were open. They were selling all sorts of stuff, most notably llama fetuses. There were potions, herbs, offerings (presumably for Pachamama), magic charms with English descriptions to increase wealth, sexual prowess, intelligence and all sorts of other things that I have no clue as to what they do. I actually saw some locals buying a llama fetus. Too bad I didn’t have a good command of Spanish to ask what they were going to do with it. I guess I should have bought some and tried them out, although I would have a hard time bringing them back to Canada.

The El Alto Airport is small by international standards. Remember that you will be charged $25 USD or $174 Bs for international departure tax and they don’t take credit card.

This trip has been tiring because of the many long bus rides but it was definitely an eye-opening and enlightening experience!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0998s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb