Preliminary Research and Planning


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » La Paz Department » La Paz
June 10th 2010
Published: June 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hola a todos,

I have been very busy since I last posted. It seems that with each day, there are more articles to read regarding my research, and more people to see and make connections with. As of now, I have begun scheduling interviews with several different individuals through my family contacts. I will be holding interviews starting next week, with legal representatives and members of los Ponchos Rojos (an indigenous-organized guerrilla security group originated in Achacachi). Also, my anthropologist aunt Nena Calvo has offered for me to sit in on an indigenous council meeting on Saturday, where I will be able to see just how political meetings are organized and run in more rural areas. Additionally, my cousin has been invited to a high-status indigenous wedding of Senator Fidel Surco (the second most influential man aside from Evo in Bolivian politics) in el Alto next Sunday, where Evo Morales (yes, the President himself), many members of the MAS party and other important political figures will be in attendance. This will be a great ceremony for me to observe and document, and I may have the chance to meet Evo!

Furthermore, my aunt Nena has graciously provided me with government issued resources that cannot be accessed publicly, such as the formal documents of Pensando la Transición Constitucional: (1) Pluralismo Jurídico Y Diálogo Intercultural en Bolivia; and (2) Propuestas Para la Ley de Deslinde Jurisdiccional. As I make my way through these documents, it becomes more apparent that there are many loopholes in the design of the new constitution. For example, Article 179 states that original indigenous towns have the right to exercise justice as they see fit and by the standards of their own self-appointed authorities (in order to promote cultural values, norms, and traditional precedents) as long as it does not violate the constitution. However, this statement in itself is an article of the constitution that does not properly define what is or is not permissible in terms of indigenous juridical practices. I am hoping to find more specific definitions as I continue to read through these documents. For now, it is safe to say that Bolivia is undergoing the same struggle that haunts international politics, which is finding the balance between the promotion of sovereignty and the defense of human rights.

Until next time,

Nejla

Advertisement



10th June 2010

This is great! As you point out, the "Ponchos Rojos" are a militant, indigenous group based in Achacachi (Provincia Omasuyos, Departamento de La Paz). Attendance to the indigenous council meeting and to the indigenous wedding of Sen. Fidel Surco will provide you an invaluable "insider's" insight, something that would be impossible to gage as a mere Internet researcher from the outside. You are very privileged to have this opportunity, make the most of it and take lots of pics! Who is the cousin you refer to in your blog?
10th June 2010

To Dad
Dad, the cousin i'm referring to is Javier Calvo. Sen. Surco is a business client of his through San Pedro. Also, Maria Angelica is arranging meetings for me with her contacts for next week (specifically highly-regarded lawyers and members of los Ponchos Rojos), whom she knows through her work as a respected professional journalist and writer. I've yet to contact German Guaygua because I have not fully developed my script (which will serve to introduce myself and help to guide me through conducting interviews in Spanish). Nonetheless, I am off to a speedy start. I doubt that three months will be enough time to investigate as thoroughly as I would like to.

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0231s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1013kb