Shopping in La Paz


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » La Paz Department » La Paz
April 14th 2008
Published: April 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Straight from arriving back from the Salar de Uyuni trip, we had a quick dinner (greatly enhanced by a drunk Bolivian puking in the corner) and then got an overnight train to Oruro - a town 3 hrs by bus from La Paz. Again, the train proved to be a good way to travel and I snuggled up with a proper blanket and pillow and woke up 20 mins before we arrived. Then a short bus trip and we arrived in La Paz by 11am and headed to our hostel - the highest microbrewery in the world. Oh and it also has beds and bedrooms!

We had heard that La Paz is a great city for markets so we first headed towards the witches market where you can find all kinds of weird and wonderful things including freeze-dried llamas which are meant to protect your house from evil spirits. I decided I was happy to take the risk - they were revolting.

The textile market, however, didn't promise to protect me from anything except the cold at the new altitude. Quite how I ended up buying 5 scarves, 4 hats, a pair of 'happy pants' and strange wrist warmers I don't know. Oh and I bought an alpaca bag to carry all my new additions in. I've just realised that I'll probably be passing on some of those items listed above as presents in a couple of months so try and act pleased and grateful if you receive one as I probably won't have been wearing it for two months 😉 I'm only joking, I have already chosen which ones I want to keep!

In the evening we met up with the couple who had been on our Salt flats tour and sampled the hostel's beer and then the lebanese restaurant and its shisha pipes. We also randomly bumped into the two GAPpers who I had spent my birthday with at our hostel. Its weird how many times that happens as you travel round over here.

La Paz was a very hectic city especially after the 3 days we'd spent in the middle of nowhere. Luckily we just used it as a place to recharge our batteries for 2 days before heading up to Lake Titicaca and Peru and eventually the big Inca Trek.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0271s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb