La Paz, Bolivia


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » La Paz Department » La Paz
March 28th 2008
Published: March 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

La Paz is a pretty interesting place. My only real plans while here are to wander around the local markets which are very hectic and somewhat bizarre. The city itself is contained mostly within a giant bowl. Upon entering the outskirts of La Paz I was somewhat afraid of what I was getting myself into as the "suburbs" are quite scary looking. The bus from Copacabana dropped me off and I had absolutely no idea where I was but it didn"t look like a very pleasant neighbourhood. I immediately hopped in a taxi who took me to my hostel (though he had to take an alternate route as there were demonstrations going on along the main thoroughfare). I"m staying in another LOKI hostel, this one is in the newly renovated Hotel Vienna (previously a posh upscale hotel that had fallen into disrepair). It"s a pretty awesome place.

The local markets are fascinating. They sell everything from clothes and shoes, to replica fossils, to dried llama fetuses (apparently people bury them in front of new home constructions to bring good luck ... I have no idea if that works but I think I"ll pass).

From here, I"m off to Potosi in southern Bolivia. I"m taking a night bus there tonight. It"ll be my first experience with a Cama (sleeper) bus so hopefully all goes well.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

a distant view from downtowna distant view from downtown
a distant view from downtown

I think this is the "badlands" area just on the outskirts of La Paz


31st March 2008

I think I stayed in Hotel Vienna when it was in the state of disrepair. Did you see the Bolivian navy at Lago Titicaca? How's the altitude treating you?
1st April 2008

La Paz, Bolivia
I didnĀ“t see the Bolivian navy at Lago Titicaca ... and I was looking for them too ...

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0496s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb