Bolivia: La Paz-Potosi-Salar de Uyuni-Tupiza


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » La Paz Department » La Paz
March 24th 2024
Published: March 24th 2024
Edit Blog Post

Bolivia is astounding! We went through three days in La Paz where the remaining ten individuals joined our visit. We presently have a full truck. La Paz may be a lovely city and I´d unquestionably go back there. We went through a day driving down the ´most perilous street within the world´ by 4WD. A few others did it on bike but my bicycle abilities are miserable with handle brakes. The street contains a notoriety for being perilous since it´s a rock street around a mountain with as it were one path for two vehicles. Presently there´s a modern fixed street for drivers to utilize.

The Brazilian Government office in La Paz denied me my Brazil visa since my bank articulations didn´t have my title on them, fair my account number. When I attempted to clarify to them that that was how the bank printed them, they demanded I grant them statements with my title on them. So basically they empower produced bank explanations essentially so they can have something along with your title on them. I´ve sorted that out and will attempt once more in Paraguay. The others on the visit are free camping for a couple of days between Argentina and Paraguay so I´m catching a night transport straightforwardly to Asuncion so I can spend some days there and after that be at the Brazilian Government office on the Monday morning. The rest of the visit arrives in Asuncion Monday evening.

Following halt was Potosi where we did a visit of a neighborhood co-op mine. The men work their arses off in appalling conditions but at slightest they get a greater cut of the cash than in case they were working for a enterprise. What the Spanish did to the individuals and the mines in Potosi is nauseating and is still apparent nowadays.

The following day was a hopeless driving day to Uyuni with exuberant rain and mud streets interior a shaking truck. We drove out to Salar de Uyuni to see the salt pads and it was overflowed to take after a lake. The salt lodging was misrepresented as well. The following day was a long driving day back to Potosi so we might drive on to Argentina.

What begun as a comfortable visit has finished up being a budget tour which I´m not awed almost. The transport is chockers and not as pleasant as when we to begin with begun in Quito. The lodging quality begun out well but presently some of the lodgings are worse than a few of the hostals I´ve remained in. I wouldn´t do an Overland visit once more.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0235s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb