Valle de las Animas


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » La Paz Department » La Paz
December 10th 2022
Published: December 10th 2022
Edit Blog Post

After seeing my morning class has more business knowledge I spent the morning composing a new lesson plan for them that has more complex financial concepts.

In the afternoon I took a bus 30 mins south of town to visit Valle de las Animas (Valley of the Souls/Spirits).

The city of La Paz is shaped like a bowl. Some believe that the city was once a lake and that shifts in tectonic plates led to slow drainage of the lake. They speculate the water may have settled in the southern half for a longer period and, due to its acidity created this forest of mammoth stalagmites. It got it's name because locals even say that when the wind passing through the rock formations, it carries the voices of spirits.

Switching countries for a minute I received an update from Hope on my loans to the ladies of RWO.

We are on week 9 of the individual loans and week 7 for the group loan. All ladies are up to date on their weekly payments. One lady, Daisy, elected to pay her loan off in full before the holidays come. I am so impressed with the ladies and I’m anxious to get updates on their businesses that Hope is compiling for me.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0692s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb