Copacabana.. not quite like Rio!


Advertisement
Published: June 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Lake Titicaca ... the Bolivian viewLake Titicaca ... the Bolivian viewLake Titicaca ... the Bolivian view

taken from the balcony of my hotel room
It is sitting on the balcony of my 5 star hotel that I look out across Lake Titicaca and really consider the size of this Lake. To think that the day before I was in Peru and after a 3 hour bus ride with water the view from the window most of the way it is still the same water body that I am looking at and again, to the horizon, water is all that I can see.

Copacabana is the border town of Bolivia adjacent to Peru and is the spot that I had planned to do absolutely nothing for the final 4 days before heading back to Australia. It is a sleepy little town existing purely as a passing point for travellers between La Paz, Bolivia and Cusco/Puno, Peru. There is the opportunity to head out on day and night excursions to the Sun Island and plenty of places to replenish the system at the many restaurants in the main street.

Both Nicola and Isabella were making their way to La Paz, Bolivia and stayed in Copacabana for a couple of days at the same time as me, which gave us more of a chance to head
selling coca tea in the squareselling coca tea in the squareselling coca tea in the square

hee hee... again, my thumb features in the photo!
out and eat and watch sunsets over the Lake before having to say goodbye and best wishes on the rest of their travels.

One the 25th I was heading back to Puno for a night of repacking my bags before boarding flight from Juliaca (1.5hr drive from Puno) to Lima (via Aricipa), 6 hour layover then a flight to Santiago, 17 hour layover then a 13.5 hour flight to NZ, off the plane and back on again to complete the journey of an additional 4.5 hour flight to Sydney, Australia!..


Advertisement



Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0183s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1022.9kb