Sucre


Advertisement
Published: June 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Arrive in Sucre at 8pm and thought I would do another one day all the sights in order to meet friends in La Paz on Friday, but when we arrive I hear there is a festival the next day and everything is shut! So check into the only hostel with space in the centre of town. More like a hotel as I have my own room and bathroom and cable tv! Have quick dinner then watch tv in bed. Check out and email my mates to find they are getting to la paz on saturday so quickly check back in for another night here. The city is heaving with people and parades and at 10am I see the president! I had forgotten this was the real capital of bolivia so he would come here for independance day. Watch many parades with cannons firing and have lunch. Get an email from mates and they are in Sucre! Wander around town for the afternoon,m very nice place compared to the other places I´ve visited in Bolivia. Then meet the boys for dinner and drinks. All tired except Darren so don´t plan much, then Darren gets tired due to a candle burning... and goes home while the rest of us go to a locals club and dance until 4am.
Next day the sights are open again so I go on the 2quid trip to see the dinosaur tracks with Andrew. Lucky we were here now as in June the tracks will be closed to the public forever and only viewing platform access. The tracks were found in the 90s while the quarry was being dug out. Quite amazing to see and touch! Another late tour so we have to race back to catch ours buses to La Paz.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.248s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0732s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb