Jungle Doctor and a Place Called Mashaquipe


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » Beni Department » Madidi
July 8th 2011
Published: August 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Jungle Doctor LuisJungle Doctor LuisJungle Doctor Luis

The tree that healed me
I had been sick in Bolivia for five days. REALLY sick. Lying in bed and moaning sick. Almost sick and scared enough to go to a Third World hospital. I won’t go into details, let’s just say the toilet had to be really, really near by.

I honestly don’t know, other than by my sheer traveling might, how I caught a bus and a plane to the jungle, but I did it. I should have probably been hooked up to an I-V.

I met some great guys from a place called Mashaquipe, which is a cooperative jungle camp organized by indigenous people of the Tuichi River area. When I signed up with them to go to their camp, I told them how sick I was and that I might have to cancel. They told me not to worry; they would “fix me.” As soon as I got into their camp they would feed me a special tea made from the bark of a tree. This was supposed to cure me. I had already tried 2 different over the counter drugs as well as antibiotics, and these had actually made me worse off. However, I actually did believe them about their tea. Hey, I’ve watched that Sean Connery film “Medicine Man.”

Once I finally arrived in camp at Mashaquipe, I was absolutely spent. All I could do was collapse in my hut. Oh, but what a wonderful place to be, even when sick. I had a wonderful cabana tucked way back in the jungle, with exotic bird, insect and monkey calls all around.

So I napped, with many an interrupted dash to the “bano,” while my guide, Luis**, went out and found the special bark of the tree. I don’t know the name of it, and I don’t think even they do. Most of these people have never spent a day in a school, and can not read or write. However, their intelligence to survive in the jungle is unsurpassed, and really, does one need to read and write out there?

A couple of hours later, Luis brought me some of the tea. It kind of tasted like spicy dirt, but I drank down every last drop. Within two hours I was healed, one hundred percent. After seven days of water, Coke and Sprite, I could finally eat again! I can still remember and taste that first
Inside my cabanaInside my cabanaInside my cabana

My favorite room of the whole trip
meal of river caught fish and rice. From being bed-ridden, to the next day hiking up steep cliffs to see Macaws, in my mind it was unbelievable.

I don’t know what was in that tree bark . . . or how the indigenous people out there ever found THAT particular tree healed stomach and bowel problems. I just know it worked, and it didn’t mess around taking a lot of time to cure. I could have hugged Luis, but instead just gave him a new name. Jungle Doctor.


**Side note—When you arrive in a jungle camp, you are assigned a guide. You DO NOT just “take a walk” into the jungle. It is the Amazon, and one wrong step and you are lost. For a FABULOUS read that I quite frankly could not put down and finished in a day, read Yossi Ghinsberg’s book, Jungle, about being lost for over 20 days in this very area. Four men went in, only two came back out.

If you are planning a jungle or pampas trip out of Rurrenabaque, I HIGHLY recommend Mashaquipe for both places.



Additional photos below
Photos: 38, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Pathway to my cabanaPathway to my cabana
Pathway to my cabana

Make sure you have a torch at night!
Clay LickClay Lick
Clay Lick

They come here to lick the clay
Dense jungleDense jungle
Dense jungle

The Madidi protected area


Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0575s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb