Valles Calchaquies


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina
December 27th 2005
Published: January 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Catchi Catchi Catchi

Ever wondered what 28,000 cacti would look like.............
This place is like nowhere I have ever seen before, it has been a real treat for my eyes. We headed to Catchi on a very twisty road, for over 20km we were climbing a mountain - the views were stunning, until we got sooo high we were completely covered by clouds. At the top, there was a complete suprise (even though I was expecting it!), 28,000 cacti! I have never seen 28,000 Cacti in one field before, especially not cardon cacti and definatly not in the Parque national los cardones!

It is the weirest sight, most were taller than me, there were straight ones, bent ones, thin ones, fat ones, some with 2 arms, some with 3, some with loads of arms, but they were all amazing! The mountains behind them were amazing too, very colourful and dramatic!
Catchi town was very small and cute, and vv hot!

The next day we headed to Cafeyate, a town sw of Salta, full of vineyards and that means lots of wine tasting!!

The road to Cafeyate was so red and very stunning. Amongst the red mountains there were also, green ones, yellow ones, orange ones, blue ones and multi coloured ones!

I climbed up into the ´devils throat´(yes another one!) a crevase on the side of a mountain and got quite high up. All I could see when I was inside was red rock & blue sky, the 2 colours went together beautifully!

Also went to a natural ampitheatre in the mountain, and on the walk in I could hear something beautiful... the sound of a flute and a guitar- not just any flute and guitar, only the most beautiful ones I have heard. I have bought the CD from the guys so will listen when I get home xx Cafyate is a beautiful town with a pretty plaza. We tasted lots of wine, muy bien!


Our next destination is.....Mendoza, 19hrs south on a night bus. Mendoza is also massive on wine production, not that we let that sway our choice on where to celebrate the arrival of 2006! Its also an adventure & party city (so we´ve heard) with the largest mountain in America.


Have a great NYE, Whatever you do!
Let me have all the details of drunken antics and naughtiness!


Love you all
xxxxxxxxx





Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

cafayate mountain cafayate mountain
cafayate mountain

red everywhere!!!!
Windows Windows
Windows

Oh another cactus!!
CafayateCafayate
Cafayate

Amazing mountain!!
CatchiCatchi
Catchi

Champion cacti, hes a dude!
AmpitheatreAmpitheatre
Ampitheatre

A Flute & a Guitar


4th January 2006

Hi
Hayley your pictures are fantastic, hope your well love the web site xxxx Happy New Year xx
13th January 2006

Hola
your comments about these places are fantastic!! I wish best for you there, sorry my bad english, I'm from Argentina

Tot: 0.175s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 25; qc: 119; dbt: 0.135s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb