After Over 400 Hours.....


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina
April 7th 2008
Published: April 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

.......of transportation by bus, boat, plane, horse and motorcycle, I am back in the US safe and sound after an incredible trip through South America.
The last couple weeks of my trip was in the north of Argentina and finally back in Buenos Aires where I flew back to SF. After the Salar de Uyuni, I took a bus into a town called Tilcara in Argentina. Beautiful little town and amazing colorful mountains surrounding the town. All was great until I twisted the hell out of my ankle on a trek to a waterfall outside of Tilcara. By means of hopping, crab walking, human crutches and piggyback rides from wonderful people, I made it back into town to the local hospital to get my ankle x-rayed, etc. I experienced some of the best examples of human compassion than I have ever felt. I was a complete stranger to these people and they helped me as if I were a lifelong friend. I have to say thanks to the two Spanish girls and two Argentine girls, the tour guide and Ernesto for helping me, pouring some serious blood and sweat getting me back up the mountain and checking on me in the hospital. I am truly grateful and don't know what I would have done without all of your support. Thank you.
So, after the ankle thing, my trip slowed down a bit. I was surrounded by some of the most beautiful scenery in Argentina but wasn't really able to explore it at all from then on because most of it was only reachable by foot, bike or horse. So, I moved on fairly quickly through Cafayate where I went through some of the Quebrada de Humahuaca by bus, then through Cordoba and Rosario.
I thank South America for sharing her beauty, offering once in a lifetime adventures and introducing me to some of the genuinely nicest people I have ever met.
Had an amazing and inspiring five month trip that I will be talking about for the rest of my life. It feels so good to be back home now and to see my friends and family.
I thank all of you for reading about my travels and sending me messages every now and again. It was so comforting to hear from home and I felt so supported while I was away.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Hostal in Salta, ArgentinaHostal in Salta, Argentina
Hostal in Salta, Argentina

It was Semana Santa (Easter Week) and the town of Salta was totally booked. I had a reservation at a hostal that the hostal owner had overlooked. He knew that I wasn't going to find anywhere to sleep in the entire town and that he had to put me somewhere. So, after hours of waiting, he constructed this room in the hallway underneath the staircase for me. It was safe and warm and hilarious!
SaltaSalta
Salta

Thousands of spiders nestle in the trees on the top of the hill that overlooks Salta. It was seriously scary and I couldn't stop taking pictures of them. They were HUGE!
Colonia del Sacramento, UruguayColonia del Sacramento, Uruguay
Colonia del Sacramento, Uruguay

Just spent one day in Uruguay. Took a boat across the river from Buenos Aires to the charming little city of Colonia.
Traditional Picada, Buenos AiresTraditional Picada, Buenos Aires
Traditional Picada, Buenos Aires

Ordering a dish called "Picada", I have learned, is one of my favorite things to do. They are so much fun to share with friends and have the perfect amount of salty olives, different kinds of meats and cheeses, nuts and some vegetables.


Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 59; dbt: 0.039s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb