Vacation from a long holiday


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina
January 27th 2008
Published: February 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

horsing around!horsing around!horsing around!

salta, argentina
Believe it or not.. Traveling is hard work! For example, the actual part of traveling is quite exhausting. First you need to find the bus terminal (take a taxi, walk, bus??), figure out how to get to your next destination (do we need to stop over in another city before we get to our final destination), shop for different prices (are we getting ripped off), find the bus once you buy your ticket (sometimes they say the bus will be arriving between gates 2 to 16.. so you have to run back and forth like a lunatic in order to find the bus), figure out if you need to pay for tax at another box office (sometimes when u get on a bus a man comes on and will collect your bus ticket but sometimes the tax isn’t included so you need to go to another box office to purchase it. Very inconvenient!), figure out the seating arrangements, making sure no one is stealing your bag and making sure you have your passport 24/7) and hold your pee for about 10 hours especially if there is no toilet on the bus. Then once you get to your final destination, its not
the crew!the crew!the crew!

me, sinead, and garry
like bus drops you off in front of your hostel so you must figure out how to get to the hostel! Its tons of responsibility! I love it though. Traveling helps you become better at making good quick decisions in emergency situations and how to always be on your toes.

This trip has been a lot different compared to my trip to Europe. The people who are traveling are either couples and people who are in their late 20s and 30s. I’m always the youngest one. Most people are experienced travelers as well.. many have already explored Asia, Europe, & Australia. There aren’t too many solo guys traveling, however there seems to be more solo women travelers. Also, there are definitely not a lot of Americans traveling. Mostly Europeans, Argentineans, and Israelis. This is going to sound absolutely terrible and I hope I do not offend anyone... but all the Israelis I have met besides one have been awfully miserable people. Ill leave it at that. When I was in Europe, Chelsea and I were constantly meeting such wonderful people that we still keep in contact to this day! But I have only made 2 to 3 friends that
lunch timelunch timelunch time

tons and tons of meat
are actually worth keeping in touch with once I return home. However, those few are absolutely great and so happy to have them as friends!

After Uyuni ,Bolivia, Sinead and I ventured off to San Pedro, Chile. At the border in Chile, the immigration officers searched through all your bags making sure you had no fruits, meat, or DRUGS. I always seem to get nervous at the border.. I know I don’t have anything on me but I always think of weird freak situations where someone put cocaine or pot in my bag. But I made it.. I just smiled and chatted up with the officer. Chile is bloody expensive though! It sure was a wakeup call... I was definitely not in Bolivia anymore. And ohhh how I miss the 8 Bolivianos to the dollar! =P Even though San Pedro was expensive, it was a great little town. We were only there so we could cross over to Argentina. We didn’t do much there besides walk around the town and look at the different shops. The next day we took a bus to Salta , Argentina.


Salta Argentina was much bigger than I expected! We were only
the horseback riders are also musiciansthe horseback riders are also musiciansthe horseback riders are also musicians

multi-talted, ay? at the ranch!
going there so we could get some rest before a 28 hour bus journey to Igauzu, Argentina. We felt like doing something different so we went horseback riding in the countryside about an hour away! Let me remind you.. I have NEVER been on a horse before. Keep in mind that horses weigh around 850 to 1500 pounds!!! also keep in mind that i ate horse in Switzerland, which i have felt absoltuly terrible about since then. I always think that other horses know that I ate one of their uncles over in switzerland. sounds silly i know.. but have you ever looked into a horses eye!?!? but back to riding the horse!!! i was a freakin natural! im telling ya! I was galloping really fast! all i needed was a shot gun and enemies to chase after! i got such an adreneline rush. i felt as if i could jump over fences or stand on its back. OBVIOUSLY i would have seriously injured myself.. but boy! i sure was so proud of myself! there was this guy from Ireland who was riding with us.. he is the guy in the picture. he was such a woos! he was scared
fun in the sun!fun in the sun!fun in the sun!

me and sinead! mar del plata, argentina
shitless.. wouldnt even go galloping. haha..however, it was really funny. howeverr, me giving him shit all day came right back to bite me in the ass because when i was galloping.. i pulled a muscle in my chest! whenever i walked, laughed, and sometimes breathed... i would get this sharp pain in my right upper side. i ended up having to wrap up my chest everyday before i went walking or put pressure on it with my hand. im tellin ya! there is always one thing after the other! but after the horse back riding, we went back to the ranch for a DELICIOUS lunch.. unlimited amounts of meat. who am i kidding.. i mean unlimited amounts of wine!!! they kept pouring wine into our glasses.. the wine was made by the monks. we left pretty tipsy. not a bad day for 30 bucks!

After Salta, Sinead and I took a 28 hour bus ride. LET ME repeat myself ONE more time.. a 28 hour bus ride to igauzu!!! hahah.. sure was the longest bus ride so far but entirely worth the long journey! Im so lucky to have met Sinead though.. she has to be one of the
its about 85-90 degrees right now!its about 85-90 degrees right now!its about 85-90 degrees right now!

mar del plata, argentina
funniest people I have ever met. I probably burned about 100 calories just from laughing when with her. She went home on Jan. 30th.. so now im traveling solo! Anyways! Igauzu is a tropical and warm town! we went there so we could visit the Iguazu Falls! The Iguazu Falls are waterfalls from the Iguazu River, which are situated between Argentina and Brazil. There is a mystical belief that there was a God who was supposed to marry a woman named Naipi but she ended up going off in a canoe down the river with a human being. The God got ripshit and divided up the river causing these massive waterfalls so the lovers would go down and never live again. Some of the falls reach about 269 feet but most are about 210 feet! Water is gushing from 80,000 gallons per a second!! Try to imagine what this sounds like! Ill add a video to this later so you all can hear it! This was quite the experience though... and it was topped with being able to go into a small boat which takes you right under the falls!!! I wanted to be so close to the falls as
SUNSUNSUN

mar del plata
possible in order to truly understand its massiveness! They call it a Baptism because you get incredibly soaked!!! Sure was a perfect way to end this little adventure! =) When we returned home, we ate tons of italian ice-cream and chilled at the hostel. When I was getting dressed in the hostels bathroom... i saw a god damn freaking cockroach the size of my middle finger!! i remained calm and didnt freak out. I only freaked out when I found ANOTHER one right underneath MY backpack!!! i barely slept that night. gah, i just got the chills just thinking about it!!!!

After Igauzu, sinead and I headed to Argentina's largest city, good ol Buenos Aires!!!! Tango capital!!! City of Beautiful people!! About 12 million people live here! Im not one for large cities but this is one city I could easily live in! I ended up staying in Buenos Aires for almost a month!!! Sinead and I, lets just say... we shopped. ALOT. They have these funky clothing designer shops and all their clothes are designed by local Argentinian artists. My favorite area in Buenos Aires is easily San Telmo and my hostel was right in it! Street buildings
Igauzu Falls, ArgentinaIgauzu Falls, ArgentinaIgauzu Falls, Argentina

everyone must visit this waterfall
are filled with colorful art. my favorite artist signs his work with elodio. Check out his website at www.elodio.tk. ive taken quite a few pictures but i am going back to hunt down them all! There is a huge antique market and a street filled with funky goods on Sundays. There are tons of tango dancers in the streets, people drinking mate outside, and tons of cafes with outdoor sitting. Live music is everywhere! most people are strangely beautiful. i visited the Evita's museam and learned about all the movements she started. I never knew much about her so Im so happy I visited it.

Sinead and I also took a side-trip to Mar Del Plata (atlantic ocean), which is the beach where all people from Buenos Aires go to during the summer. Its about 5 hours away and we spent 4 solid days on the beach. got a nice tan but also a burn! Mar del Plata was great though! people party HARD! We basically party till 6 or 7 in the morning then we gather our belongings and head straight to the beach. Pass out for awhile then get up to go swimming!!! I sure did miss
Igauzu Falls, ArgentinaIgauzu Falls, ArgentinaIgauzu Falls, Argentina

I went under those falls in those little teeny tiny boats! They call it a baptism! it was so refreshing because it was atleast 95 degrees that day!
the ocean! the undertoe was so strong. if you get caught under the crash of the wave you get knocked right down to the sand and tossed in circles. Quite crazy but loved every second of it!!! After Mar del Plata, we went back to Buenos Aires and just lived. I loved my hostel. Made lunch and dinner every day in the hostel... watched movies.. went shopping.. went to the cinema.. walked to parks.. explored different areas of Buenos Aires.. went to pubs.. saw live bands.. and just had a good time. there was stuff happening all the time! It was hard to leave but luckily ill be going back in a week.

Right now!!! im in Punta del Diablo, Uruguay! It feels like a true fishermen or pirate town! Tons of hippies, surfers, and laidback folks. Its not a crazy beach town.. thats in punta del este. ive been spending my days swimming, laying on the beach, walking the beach, laying in hammocks, eating good ol pasta because im poor, and trying to make new friends. I came here with a couple of people.. 2 guy bestfriends from Germany and a couple from greece and italy. However, i
the igauzu fallsthe igauzu fallsthe igauzu falls

igauzu, argentina
sort of feel like a third wheel with all four of them. its definately hard meeting people in south america though. there are so many pretentious people traveling.. or people in their mid 30s who dont feel like hanging out with a 22 year old.. or romantic couples.. and i dunno. hopefully ill meet some cool people soon! getting a little homesick. missing some people back home... but i cant wait for Peru!

My best friend Chelsea who I have always traveled with is coming to Cuzco, Peru for spring break! We are going to visit Machu Picchu and the Amazon!!! Sinead gave me her malaria pills so we are all set! I just found out a week ago that she is coming to visit so i am beyond excited!! i almost cried. we have the best time traveling.

My plans now are to do a little more exploring of uruguay possibly punta del este and colonia. Then off to buenos aires for some last minute shopping and take pictures of elodios artwork. Then head across to Tucuman, Argentina to visit a friend then to Arica in Chile. Then head up to Peru!!! Visit the Nazca lines, sandboard
La Boca!La Boca!La Boca!

caminito! Buenos Aires!
in Ica, visit a few little towns, and then to Cuzco!

I am now coming home in April instead of May. My money isnt running low buttt I definately wouldnt be able to do everything I want to do if I stay till May because then I would run out of money. So leaving in April will allow me to do fun and exciting things like paragliding.. jungle tour and exursions.. more beach time.. and so on.

hope all is well!!

STAY WARM!!!!!!!!!!!

-Shannon


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Tango DancersTango Dancers
Tango Dancers

people randomly tango dance in the streets of Buenos Aires
huge treehuge tree
huge tree

I found this tree in Palmero in Buenos Aires- Argentina!
the salvation army!!!the salvation army!!!
the salvation army!!!

only i would manage to find the only salvation army in argentina!!! YES!
my hostel in Buenos Airesmy hostel in Buenos Aires
my hostel in Buenos Aires

we all sleep very closely to one another haha =P
tango dancers and musictango dancers and music
tango dancers and music

san telmo-buenos aires, argentina
guitaristguitarist
guitarist

buenos aires
ELODIO!!!!!!!!ELODIO!!!!!!!!
ELODIO!!!!!!!!

my favorite street artist in Buenos aires!!!


5th February 2008

hey you, come back to north america!!! haha
7th February 2008

hey Shannon, this is Maggie D. I've been reading your blog and it sounds like you are having so much fun!! I want to hear even more about your trip when you get back! Have fun and stay safe, Maggie

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 15; qc: 49; dbt: 0.056s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb