The end of the world


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Tierra del Fuego » Ushuaia
April 29th 2008
Published: May 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Day 207 - Monday 14 April

It was another early start and at 8am the bus set off for Ushuai. Even though Ushuais in Argentina the only way to get there by bus is to first pass through Chile, so I had to get on/off the bus a couple of times whilst I collected some more stamps in my passport. Apart from that it was pretty univentful until we reached about 30 mins outside Ushuai. The scenary was fabulous, snow covered mountains everywhere. It was certainly worth the drive down. I´ve never got the wanting to live in the countryside thing, I prefer to live in cities with the hustle and bustle but seeing those mountains, I think I finally got it.

Ten hours after setting off, I finally reached Ushuai. Its the most southern city in the world and is only 600 miles from Antartica. As such I'd expected it to be freezing, but it isn´t actually that bad.

After dropping my bags off, I had a quick wander around the city (Its more like a small town). Its a nice place and has a small vibe to it that I like.

Day 208 - Tuesday 15 April

Theres supposed to be good views of the mountains and the city below from the top of one of the hills at the back of town, but its raining this morning so instead i'm just going to have a look around the town centre.

I called into the post office as I want to send some stuff home but unfortunately they didn´t have any boxes. When I tried to ask where I could get one from I got a load of impossible to understand Spanish back. In the end I gave up and had a look around the shops for a box. Unbelievably nobody had one and I couldn´t understand where I could get one from. After 2 hours I gave up, ill just have to wait until Buenos Aires now.

As its the most southern city in the world the town has its own passport stamp so I called into the tourist information office to get it. When you've come this far I think its obligatory.

I don't know what it is about the place, yesterday I'd liked it, but today I don´t and want to move on. So I went and got a bus ticket for the next bus out of town to Buenos Aires. Its a 50 hour bus ride the longest i'll have done but luckily I've just managed to pick up a new book (You wouldn´t believe how difficult it is to get a book in English).

As the bus leaves at 5am in the morning I need to have an early night, so did all my emails and charged the PSP ready for the mammoth bus journey ahead.

Tomorrow I turn round, head north and start the long journey home.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0722s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb