Found in Patagonia


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Santa Cruz » El Chaltén
March 9th 2006
Published: March 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Perito Moreno GlaciarPerito Moreno GlaciarPerito Moreno Glaciar

One of many glaciars in Patagonia, but for me this was something realy impressive!!
Luckily this time no real crazy stories, although my time in the Park Los glaciares was fabulous.
First I went to El Chalten, where they have one of the most beautiful mountain scenery I've ever seen. But more than a day hike I could'nt do because of the bad weather and my complaining feet (after the 5 day trip being lost!!)
2 days after I took a bus (for a change) to El Calefate, home to the Perito Moreno Glaciar. With some other backbackers, we rented a car and drove in the evening to the Glaciar, where we camped! All night long we heard the sound of big Ice chuncks braking off the glaciar, Amazing!! Then I took one day of relaxing before I headed back to Chile, to the famous Torres del Paine,

At Torres del Paine, a did the circuito, thats a hike for a bit over 125 kilometers, along the stunning mounains, glaciars lakes, waterfalls forests and river......The best hike I ever done, even with the bad weater!!!

When i was done, I headed to Punta Arenas, where I had to go to see some pinguins, before I headed to the end of the world......

Ushiaha in Argentina, nice little town at the most southerns point in the world....also great hiking there and good people in the relaxed hostel....but since its not that warm anymore in the souht I'm gonna go to Buenos Aires, hasta pronto


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Sunrise at TorresSunrise at Torres
Sunrise at Torres

Amazing colour change in a couple of minutes!!
Torres del PaineTorres del Paine
Torres del Paine

A lot of rain when hiking, but at the time that I needed the good view.....I got it, lucky me!!!
Malleganes pinguinMalleganes pinguin
Malleganes pinguin

Too bad that the picture don't show how they walk....thats the best part
End of the World UshuaiaEnd of the World Ushuaia
End of the World Ushuaia

Not just the end of the world but a beatiful one, nice surroundings and the town was surprisingly nice as well!!
Ushuaia from aboveUshuaia from above
Ushuaia from above

It's a couple of hours climbing, but it's defenitly worth the effort!!


Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0174s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb