Salta


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Salta
November 22nd 2006
Published: December 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Another Pink HouseAnother Pink HouseAnother Pink House

People in Argentina have a thing about pink. Apparently it is to do with the days of war when a winning side would use Ox blood to stain the outside of their buildings.
Deciding to leave Buenos Aires was easy enough the hard part was deciding where to go. In the end after much deliberation I decided to head straight for Bolivia but thought it would be good to break the journey up and stay in Salta for the night.

So before I begin to tell you about Salta I feel the need to tell you about my first and only bus journey up until now in Argentina. On my way to BA the bus journey was nearly better than any flight that I’ve been on (Club Class to New York still wins hands down). The seats roll all the way back and part way through the journey we stopped and were rallied into this restaurant where we were given a 3 course meal with wine. Then on the bus we were given nibbles and champagne while watching movies in English......

My lack of English also helped as I just smile at everybody and therefore found myself with excellent customer service and all the staff bending over backwards to top up my drink.......bonus.

So on arriving in BA I was so glad to be told that all the buses in Argentina
Iglesia CathedralIglesia CathedralIglesia Cathedral

This 19th century church guards the ashes of General Martin Miguel de Guemes , a hero of the war of independence.
were of the same standard.

However on arriving at the platform for my bus to Salta I knew that I was misinformed. The bus was falling apart at the seams. More cracks in the window than you would see if you dropped a box of eggs and stains in the seats that you would not even begin to guess at what they were. As a hardcore traveller I’ve been through worse so I jumped on the bus thanking my lucky stars that I only had 18 hours of this. Yes, you guessed it we only broke down for 7 hours and ended up having to join another much nicer bus but unfortunately we were only 2 hours away from Salta so I never even managed to appreciate my new found luxury for a long period of time! The joys of bus journeys........Little did I know that it was the start of things to come!

Back to Salta it is a lovely little town with colonial architecture and lots of museums. So those of you who know me will know that museums are not normally my thing but I made an executive decision to try it, I might like it, a bit of education and culture could be fun.

During my day I visited 2 museums, there were some great views of the plaza but unfortunately everything was in Spanish. Some of the artefacts were quite cool but it took me no time at all to shimmy around and call it a day. I then spent the rest of my day visiting churches and monuments and took a cable car up to see an aerial view of the town. I decided to walk back and managed to get lost but bumped into a Dutch couple who were lost to!!

The most exciting part of the day was watching a demonstration around the Plaza. I later found out that the people were demonstrating about two murders that had taken place under suspicious circumstances but the police had stopped the investigation. So maybe Salta isn’t the quaint little town that it comes across as!



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0469s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb