memory lane


Advertisement
Published: July 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

skippin rocksskippin rocksskippin rocks

My first day in Bariloche was as marvelous as the lake looks in the photo
"Just because you feel it, doesn't mean it's there" - Radiohead

Visiting Bariloche was like walking down memory lane, with lindsay on one arm (sharing ice creams, long bus rides, laughs and nights out) and with Jean Paul Sartre on the other. I felt as though I was returning to the past but with a changed mind, impression and ideas of Bariloche and Argentina in general. It was sunny and snowy, it was rainy and cosy. I met new people and people who I met while I was there in 2002 on a rotary exchange for one year. Lindsay and I stayed with our friend Mariana (Mariu), who was heaps of fun and graciously drove us around smoking cigarettes and listening to the same Radiohead CD for a week. It was absolutely grand though. I have many other photos but all of which are on the Sony Pentax camera which cannot be accessed at this time and at this internet cafe, (which unfortunately is currently reeking of cigarettes, gouda cheese and farts. However, I am smiling because in one week I will go to Peru! Oh, there is just so much to write about and I am way behind
smilin in the sunsmilin in the sunsmilin in the sun

Mariu and I with the sunshine in our eyes and smiles on our faces
on the blogs.

Anyway, yes, Bariloche. A beautiful paradise of lakes, mountains, germans, and snowflakes, but where the dogs of the rich eat better than the children of the poor. I visited with my host families, brothers, sisters and friends from school. I was disappointed that with some of my friends I had nothing to talk about except the world cup, but was delighted that my families were still using the Canadian pot holders I had given them ages ago and that they didn't mind that I was vegetarian.

Now I am back in Buenos Aires. Michelle has come and gone, Sheena is here but will leave tomorrow to Las Leñas to snowboard in Mendoza. I will put up another blog this week about all that and other news.

For now, I will say good bye and thank you to marg frisque and val wojtula (our great moms) for the treats they sent along with michelle. Thank God the bag with peanut butter, timbits, curry paste, chai tea, long johns, ski socks and laura's runners wasn't lost, and that it was Michelle's pack with all of her travel stuff that was lost (but finally found and on
sick of waiting?sick of waiting?sick of waiting?

getting ready for a long journey, saying good bye to buenos aires
its way to La Paz) so unsurprisingly by Air Canada! Phew! Jajaja, pobre Michelle, estoy jodiendo, lo lamento mucho!

Well, muchos besos
until next time

jenica international.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Rotary!Rotary!
Rotary!

of course I couldn't visit bariloche without going to a Rotary meeting! The club that hosted my exchange in 2002-2003 were thrilled to see me and let me give a long winded speech!
BienvenidosBienvenidos
Bienvenidos

Mariu welcomed me into her house for the week! How sweet
Futbol feverFutbol fever
Futbol fever

It was about -5 degrees in the dome, and I haven't ran in about


23rd July 2006

yahoo
como pasa el tiempo.....disfruta todo. gracias por el mensaje feliz dia.
30th July 2006

Back from Africa and off to Mexico..
Hey girls!! We've enjoyed another one of your fun filled blogs, we hope you have an amazing time in Peru!! Cath: Jen, your blog was such a deja vu...vamos Patagonia! I can't wait to see you soon back in 'crazy Kelowna'. We will definately show these home boys how to have a good time...give me a mail if you are still wanting to go to San Martin, and I can give you some contacts if you would like. lots of love Heath: Hey girls, I am just sitting here at Cath's house hearing about all her amazing adventures in Africa....some scary too! I am leaving for Mexico in 2 weeks today. It is only a shame that I will not see you girls when you arrive home. Last weekend I went down the Pen canal with Quin, Michelle and Jon. It was a great time. Keep it real in South Am. Love, Heather
4th August 2006

Hey henny from the block, your Bariloche adventures sound wonderful, I wish I was there visiting all your host families with you. I just got back from Tofino, surfing and having fun in the sun. Lots of love, miss you, deine Hannah Ps. HAVE FUN IN PERU!

Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0283s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb