The trip here


Advertisement
Published: June 25th 2012
Edit Blog Post

The trip here was interesting. 49 hours of planes, airports and buses. Everything was going pretty good until the cab driver at the Buenos Aires airport tried to say I gave him 2 ten pesos bills instead of two hundreds. I should have learnt to say "give me back my money" in spanish. Probably with a few more F words in there, but i think i agreed not to swear on this blog site or I'd get kicked off. Eventually after me just saying no and two hundred a bunch of times he finally took me to the bus station. The bus station was a pretty interesting place, it was hard to take pictures from the bus but the station was surounded by some spretty interesting areas. It kind of looked like pictures I've seen of favelas. Buildings that looked randomly thrown together connected by alleyways covered in tents. All painted bright colors and full of smiling faces. Oh and one area that looked like they were selling miniature pony rides, which I unfortunately didn't get a picture of. I didn't explore much because I was alone with all my gear, but someday I'll have to come back with someone to do a south America trip and revisit Buenos Aires. The cab driver pointed and told me in Spanish about the important landmarks I should be taking pictures of. Besides him trying to pull a fast one he was pretty cool. So here are the pictures! plenty more to come.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



26th June 2012

winter
Doesn't look like winter yet
26th June 2012

So you've already encountered the infamous taxie driver! Take lots of pictures and enjoy.
26th June 2012

Glad you made it okay!
HI Alex, Ah, the photos of the bus station bring back memories.... 27 hours worth! So exciting to see the first mountain after the endless pamplas rolling by the bus window. Good thing the buses are semi-comfortable and they serve crap food huh? lol Hope you found the hostel okay and have indulged in mucho cervezas!! Happy Snow Boarding!!! :)
26th June 2012

Argentina trip
Hi Alex, glad to hear that you made it safe & sound!! I am sure it will be a very interesting trip. I just read an article in my Mens Journal about Argentina beef. Suppose to be very good, the way they cook or bbq it is interesting, very slow is the way they do it. Anyway, have fun, be careful & awaiting your next news!
27th June 2012

Enjoy!
So happy to hear you made it safe & sound. Luv the pictures, take lots! Looking forward to hearing about all of your adventures. Be safe, have fun!! Love you lots!!!
1st July 2012

Great to know you made it with all your gear!
Love the pics - send more! I sent half my angels with you ( I have lots). When are we going to see you on the slopes? love you.
4th July 2012

where is the snow board
See you are having a good time, hope the rest of your trip is as interesting. Nice pictures. See you when the rubbarb is ready. Larry

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0265s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb