Andrea´s b-day in Bariloche


Advertisement
Published: September 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Got to sleep in for my b-day. What bliss!

I wanted to go kayaking but the weather wasn´t great. We booked a morning horse back riding tour instead. A guy picked us up in his truck and drove us to a field where the horses were waiting and we headed up the mountain. I´m not much of a horse rider but the horses were pretty calm and took direction well. We took a pretty steep path up the mountain and ended up at a look out about 3/4 of the way up. There was a great view of the mountains and area. It was only a 2 hour ride so we headed back down. Leah´s horse wasn´t so keen to go very fast so required a lot of encouragement from the guide.

We made it back into town in time for lunch and went to a nice little restaurant. Leah told them it was my b-day so there was an embarassing moment at the end where they came out with cake and sang happy birthday while everyone in the restaurant clapped and sang along. Needless to say, I turned a dark shade of red but the flan cake was good!

We wandered around the town some more but it was pretty quiet being Sunday. We headed back to the hostel and I took a siesta in preparation for the rest of the evening. Turns out you can book an hour in the hostel´s jacuzzi room overlooking the lake and mountains so Leah and I headed there for a swim.

We met up with Chris and Adam again for dinner. I´d read in the Lonely Planet about a great restaurant that looked like a hobbit house. It lived up to its description. It was absolutely adorable and there were many Lord of the Rings jokes flying around.

They had an extensive wine list but most of the bottles were quite expensive. We decided to split the cheapest bottle on the menu and all ordered the ¨small¨350gr Argentinian steak. The large was over 500 gr. I couldn´t even finish the small. However, for my first official Argentinian steak I was not dissapointed. It was a great dinner and great company. We then headed to a local pub for drinks.

Adam and Leah decided to buy me the most revolting drink on the menu as a b-day present. It tasted like vomit and I definitely don´t recommend it however I don´t know what it´s called so you´ll just have to take my word for it. We had a great time and didn´t get to bed until the wee hours. I think a great way to spend your 30th.

Paragliding up next...


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Hobbit doorHobbit door
Hobbit door

Frodo's waiting inside.


Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0454s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb