Cruce de Lagos (Argentina)


Advertisement
Published: November 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After crossing the border into Argentina and Parque Nacional Nahuel Huapi, we reached Lago Frias. Whilst we had our passports stamped, we used the bathroom facilities and had an opportunity to sample the famous chocolate caliente. I never tasted such yummy hot chocolate and look forward to more of it once I am in Barlioche.

We took our second lake crossing from Puerto Frias to Puerto Blest. At Puerto Blest, we had an hour stopover where some took a walk to the Cascada Los Cantaros whilst others including myself just wanted to relax in the restaurant drinking coffee. I took the opportunity to update my diary and did some reading. The time came when we boarded our boat for the last lake crossing from Puerto Blest on Lago Nahuel to Puerto Panuelo. This is when the weather began caving in with rain and cold. So we took refuge inside the boat admiring the views and I got chatting to some Columbians on the tour and they were so warm and friendly. Now, I am inspired to visit Columbia! We eventually arrived at Puerto Panuelo. It took a while for everyone with their luggage organised and being dropped off at their accommodation. I was dropped off last but it turned out that the hostel, I have my reservation with, is closed for refurbishment. I could not believe it! Another potential accommodation blip! But I noted that my reservation has been transferred to another hostel of the same chain downtown. So the driver drove there and dropped me off. It worked out OK in the end and probably better as it is a lot nearer downtown!

I was glad to do the Cruce de Lagos crossing. I am satisfied of what I saw and experienced. I was blessed with seeing such amazing scenery despite the weather caving in at the end. I felt the Chilean guide and driver were more helpful, approachable and attentive than the Argentine equivalent (speaking from personal experience). I would not do the crossing again but I would recommend it for the experience even if it is a very expensive thing to do.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

On Lago FriasOn Lago Frias
On Lago Frias

On the second lake crossing.
At Puerto PanueloAt Puerto Panuelo
At Puerto Panuelo

After a long day and with Llao Llao hotel in the background.


Tot: 0.222s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 21; qc: 104; dbt: 0.1632s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb