Puerto Iguazu


Advertisement
Published: May 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

On Thursday I met Andres, the Cordobese guy who lives in Spain and who I met in Bariloche and who was in Cordoba city on this day. Afterwards, I went drinking mate with Benjamin and in the evening I got invited by his friend Anton and we kept talking until 3 am. On Wednesday, I had just time to buy some yerba and alfajores before starting my 21h bus trip to Puerto Iguazu. ExpresoSinger is the greatest bus company ever! Nice temperature, good seats, nice people, good(!) food and the first time I saw a woman working on a bus. The last 2h I was the only passenger 😊 The weather in Cordoba was quite nice, but here in Iguazu it's subtropic. The earth is red, the landscape green, green, green...beautiful! And the mosquitos aren't such a big problem (but protection is necessary because of the yellow fever). Today I went to the catarates, the famous waterfalls, which might become one of the new 7 wonders of the world. The park is simply amazing, the falls impressive, the selva beautiful, and all these butterflies and other animals...I did a tour on a speed boat and we went very close (everybody got completely wet), walked a lot, and did a tour on a boat on the upper part of the river, where we saw turtles and crocodiles. Here at the hostel we've got quite a good time, too. My room mates are 2 girls from London; well, English is the main language anyway, which is a bit sad. During my whole trip I met so many nice people, some a bit crazy (as some of you might have seen on my facebook page), but very nice and it's sad that this trip will be over soon. On Sunday I'm going to Sao Paulo, which will already be my last stop before coming home.....well, I'm looking forward to seing most of you again and I won't tell you much more about Iguazu because especially in this case: 1 picture tells more than 1000 words.

Advertisement



15th May 2011

puerto - puerta... boa viagem!
Ya estas dejando al sol argentino la tristeza acompañando a ti – ya otro día, otro luego, otro momento… y finalmente una poema de Borges: --- Elegía Oh destino el de Borges, haber navegado por los diversos mares del mundo o por el único y solitario mar de nombres diversos, haber sido una parte de Edimburgo, de Zurich, de las dos Córdobas, de Colombia y de Texas, haber regresado, al cabo de cambiantes generaciones, a las antiguas tierras de su estirpe, a Andalucía, a Portugal y a aquellos condados donde el sajón guerreó con el danés y mezclaron sus sangres, haber errado por el rojo y tranquilo laberinto de Londres, haber envejecido en tantos espejos, haber buscado en vano la mirada de mármol de las estatuas, haber examinado litografías, enciclopedias, atlas, haber visto las cosas que ven los hombres, la muerte, el torpe amanecer, la llanura y las delicadas estrellas, y no haber visto nada o casi nada sino el rostro de una muchacha de Buenos Aires, un rostro que no quiere que lo recuerde. Oh destino de Borges, tal vez no más extraño que el tuyo. --- Boa viagem! Bom prazer! Até mais!

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0319s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb