Shaking with excitement...Iguazu Falls...


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Misiones » Puerto Iguazú
August 4th 2010
Published: August 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

It was a tough decision when I had to decide between Mendoza, Argentina´s wine region, and Iguazu Falls, one of the most incredible natural wonders of the world. But as soon as I walked through the forest and heard the roar of the water and felt the mist surrounding me, I knew I had chosen the right place!!

A few details to give you some perspective...there are 275 falls along 2.7 kilometers of the Iguazu River and they range in height from 64 to 82 meters high. Argentina has 2/3 of the area where you are literally within the falls while Brazil has 1/3 and you get a panoramic view of the entire scene which gives you a bit of perspective.

It was an incredible moment to emerge from the trail and have your view immediately replaced with a dozen cascading waterfalls all linked together crashing over the end of the earth with a beautifully lush backdrop. I started on the Argentinian side so I was right in all the action - I had shivers all over as I approached the base. It was a once in a lifetime moment and it took my breath away (I hope my photos can begin to describe this place but you'll have to visit yourself to get the true impact!). I wandered around for 8 hours taking it all in and trying to imprint the scenes into my memory. There are several hikes surrounding the falls and even a small island where you can go to get up close. If I had to choose one place as the most spectacular, it would have to be the Garganta del Diable (The Devil's Throat)...it's U-shaped, 82 meters high, 150 meters wide and 700 meters long - as I hung over the edge of the railing I was surrounding by the crashing falls...this site marks the border between Argentina and Brazil. And it was at this moment that I decided that I had to see the Brazillian side as well - I was being drawn (Canadians need a visa so I had orginally opted out due to the costs and time constraints).

So later that night I changed my flight back to Buenos Aires, re-arranged my hostel nights, started my visa application online and had my photo taken in Puerto Iguazu...then up at 7am the next morning to hit the Brazillian Embassy...and I was off 😉

The Brazillian side was only 1200m meters of trails but the panoramic sensation more than made up for the shorter distance! I was met with the cascading falls from one corner to the next. You could really get a sense of the entire area and everything it has to offer. There is one section where you can trek out to the edge to look down but you're also at the base of another fall so you're totally surrounded...I must say that as I was walking out and the sun came out with a rainbow over the falls I realized why I had to see it from this perspective. The sun was beaming down, the mist surrounded me, my yellow plastic poncho whipped around me from the force of the wind from the falls and I had a clear view down the channel...stunning!! I was truly happy in that moment and nothing else mattered in the world...

Advertisement



9th August 2010

WOW
This is now on the list! Although I feel like you've described the experience in full detail. M : )

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1018.3kb