Final days in Buenos Aires before heading home...


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
August 6th 2010
Published: August 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

One month later...and South America has stolen my heart...I have fallen in love with Chile and Argentina! I'm so excited to learn spanish and start a proper trip...probably 6 months or so 😉

Back in Buenos Aires I checked into my hostel which was right downtown with a rooftop terrace...excellent! The sun was shining so I headed out to explore the neighbourhood of San Telmo which is home to BA's main tango culture ~ it's full of cobbled streets and aging mansions. In the past it had really low rents which attracted artists but now there are also several funky boutiques and antique stores. I definitely wanted to augment my wardrobe with a splash of BA so I may have done a little shopping 😉 Three wicked dresses and one trendy shirt later I was satisfied! I relaxed in a cute cafe for the rest of the afternoon...wrote in my journal, sipped a submarino, and people watched...I don't think I'm done with this city so I'll definitely be back...

I met up with a friend from earlier on my trip and we enjoyed some wine in the plaza in San Telmo before our dinner reso (which was at 10pm - super early for BA...haha). It was a peaceful night and we met some local artisans who joined us! I appreciated my bife de lomo and a malbec wine on my final evening in this crazy city... We headed back to my hostel to dig into my chocolates from Bariloche and to finish off the malbec on the roof top terrace. We laughed, talked and reminisced for a few hours...clear skys, the lights of BA, great company and a fantastic final night in Buenos Aires...


Thanks for reading about my adventures and I LOVED hearing your comments! I'll be posting a few pictures here and on facebook in the next fews days once I'm settled in Kits 😉 ciao ciao dev

Advertisement



9th August 2010

Sounds like the most amazing trip EVER. South America is now seriously up there on my list! You'll have to let me know about the ins and outs of your GAP Adventure trip, sounds like a good add on to the trip!
9th August 2010

AWESOME trip!!
I am so sad your trip is coming to an end, but happy that you have real traveler disease ... ie "I want to live there", and "I am going to go there again". Did you get any art???? I better come visit you soon, get some of your imported chocolates while they still exist. I guess I have to start reading online newspapers and indepth astrological forecasts during my breaks.. this was a delightful treat to have your blogs.. Thank you sooo much for sharing your travel experiences : ) M
9th August 2010

Home already!!!??
I can't believe that trip is already coming to an end!! I was overwhelmed with the urge to travel after reading all your entries....you have a great way of describing the whole picture :) Another 6 month trip eh??? Ahh, how the addiction of travel and culture is never satisfied....only feuled! Can't wait to see you and here your stories :) And now another adventure begins....... xo

Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1084s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb