If you ever doubted God....today's photos will change your mind...


Advertisement
Published: March 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Every day I think to myself “ahhhhh…It CAN’T get any better than this…” Oh, It does! Today was proof. I spent the morning in Argentina...really I was just on the Argentinian side of the falls. It was….I was breathless most of the day. All but one of the times was because of the sites I was seeing. The other time I’ll get to in a second…First…


My driver and guide (yes, I feel special with a personal guide and driver….) picked me up at 7am to go to the Iguacu national Park in Argentina! I was excited and nervous today because I was going on a boat ride and walking through the jungle for the first time. I did NOT see any Pumas (sorry Mary…it’s NOT a puma…), or spiders, or any monkeys!!! BUT I did see raccoons, butterflies, lizards (so cute) and an 8ft rattle snake .

The first thing I did when I got to the park was to go to what is called the “Throat of the Devil…” I can see why it’s called that….At the same time, I have never been more sure of God in my life! Such a creation!! Mixing flat out chaos with the peacefulness of the jungle around it. He really knew what he was doing when he created this place. I could not stop taking pictures the entire time I was on the Argentine side. It truly was the most spectacular thing I have ever seen. I walked TONS…and on a foot that I’m sure is either badly sprained or quite possibly (with the bump and bruise on my foot) slightly fractured. I still don’t know how it happened but NOTHING was/is getting in the way of my trip. And today was well worth it.

There was an endless supply of falls, and all sorts of photo-ops. And I took complete advantage. After walking most of the morning I got my ticket from my tour guide and I went on a ‘grand adventure.’ I started out on a boat that goes through some of the falls. NOT the huge ones, but cool smaller ones. That was a blast! I got soaked (as expected) and just LOVED being on the water again. Next, after thoroughly soaking me, the boat took me to my next adventure…a truck ride through the sub-tropical jungle. This is where the other breathless thing comes in…it was about 115degrees today and I’m thinking there is something in the air…or maybe the air was just THAT thick…but walking up the 70+ stairs to my truck… I had a slight asthma attack. It was one of my first. I just had the most difficult time breathing. Maybe it was adrenaline with a mix of my environment and the humidity and the heat…I’m not THAT out of shape…but I quickly recovered thanx to my inhaler…on to the jungle! It was a 2 mile ride through the jungle looking at the flora and fauna and my jungle guide explained to me what everything was. Bamboo! It’s the coolest thing to see. I don’t know why but it is. Anyway….


All of you reading this know me at least fairly well….I don’t even really know what I can say about today. A few times I was very *emotional* at the falls. I was told it was emotional on multiple levels….I can’t believe I was on the verge of crying. It was the PERFECT day. I never wanted to leave. The jungle was so fresh. I could breathe clean air, smell everything… The smell alone was relaxing. At one point I just closed my eyes and let myself be consumed by it. I just felt like I was sinking into it all. I can’t really explain it. I have always dreamt of seeing the jungle—any jungle—that I still can’t believe I’m here…and TOMORROW I actually get to live out an actual specific goal of mine….Amazon safari…actually I think it’s the next day but tomorrow my hotel is IN the Amazon.

The rest of today was spent poolside, still thinking about all that I’ve done the last 5 days and how truly blessed and refreshed I’m feeling. A year ago things were a mess…I NEVER THOUGHT this is where I’d be in a year. Well here I am. Sitting poolside, in a bikini, drinking my (of course) Capaihina and just chillin. Here’s some pix. I literally have hundreds more of just today…..













Advertisement



3rd April 2007

Wow, it looks gorgeous! I LOVE TINY TURTLE!

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0651s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb